RSS Feed

>I’m addicted to making nut cheeze

Posted on

>Now that I’ve confessed; here’s my latest favorite nut cheeze.
I always soak my nuts for at minimum of 12 hours; but I try to go a full 48 hours so that they’re easier to digest and easier on my little food processor

Southwestern Nut cheese (the child in me laughs. very hard)

1/2 c soaked nuts; a mixture of equal amounts of almonds, cashews, macadamia and brazil nuts
3 T soaking water
2 cloves of garlic
1 T olive oil
1/4 chipotle pepper
1/2 t adobo sauce from peppers
2 t taco seasoning
1/2 t salt (optional)

food process all until smooth. You may need a little more water; it really depends on how amazing your food processor is.
Enjoy on top of enchiladas, on crackers, on toastadas and enchiladas. Or dip some raw veggies in and pretend you’re being healthy. :)

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >Awesome! I had no idea you liked the spicy until I saw that chipotle hummus. I am a wuss so is this spicy? It doesn't seem like it would be with only 1/4 of a chipotle. I'm gonna save this bad boy.

    Reply
  2. >it's actually not very spicy; it just has a little bite. the hummus however, is super spicy :) you could leave out the seeds of the chipotle and it will take some of the heat away.wait..you don't like hot food?!

    Reply
  3. >I've got to admit, I don't often make nut cheeses, but for a special treat, I'll have to file this recipe away. It sounds like the perfect addition to a roasted veggie sandwich (a current lunchtime favorite for me)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 329 other followers

