RSS Feed

Rose Pepper and a Recipe Review

Posted on

So, I skipped St. Patrick’s Day this year. Honestly, if I think about it, St. Patrick’s day always gets me in trouble when it falls on a week day. I go out with friends, drink too much, spend too much money, and stay out far too late. Then I’m miserable at work the next day. Besides, my kidneys have been aching lately and I thought a night of drinking was probably a really terrible idea. So I skipped out on the east Nashville pubcrawl for the first time in six years. Damn, I’m an adult. (oh no, I’m old!!!)
So, I went for Mexican Food…

Guacamole, featuring Wes’ hand. Last night’s batch wasn’t the best-which is not typical, it was too…mellow. It needed something, so we stirred in spicy salsa and it was amazzzzzzzing. I love guac. Disregard the menu please, that’s the specials and obviously not what I ordered :)

And I really couldn’t not have a top-shelf margarita. If I’m drinking liquor, it’s going to be top shelf. There’s no reason to drink crap and feel like crap later.

We went to Rose Pepper pretty early yesterday because we knew everything in the neighborhood would be crazy busy. When we got home, I decided to try a recipe I’ve been eyeballing since it was posted, Choosing Raw’s Walnut Cheddar Cheese
So I gathered my ingredients…

Not picture, lemon juice. Trust me, I added it. I was so excited about this recipe. The ingredients are all things I use regularly and…well, let’s just say that while it smells like cheddar cheese and is an orange-y color like cheddar, it has this awful too twangy taste that’s like over sharp over aged possibly bad dairy cheese. It wasn’t good. It was too…almost salty/twangy which is a big deal for me to say, because I’m quite the salt fiend. I saved what I made and I’m pretty sure I can mellow this out with some plain soaked cashews and make it edible. I refuse to throw way something that’s made from such expensive ingredients. A note about the recipe though; I only used 1/2 c of water and mine was pretty thin, not like pourable, but pretty close to pourable, definitely a little too ‘wet’ to use in a sandwich. Any one else tried this? I usually like Gena’s recipes, but this one needs some work [to me].

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. yikes! I just checked out the recipe and yeah – that’s WAY too much water and way too much acid. I think her ingredients are good, but the measurements are way off…I may have to play around with it ;)

    Reply
  2. Maybe it was a typo? That’s too bad. I hate to waste ingredients too but this does sound good. I want to try a lot of her recipes.

    Reply
    • laceythevegan

      I’m not quite sure as no one else on the entry said anything…which makes me think they praised the recipe without trying it. I would suggest either using just one T of lemon juice and leaving out the ACV or only using the 1 t of ACV because it’s great in theory and would’ve been wonderful with less bite. I added some raw cashew cream to it and it tamed it enough for me to love it!

      Reply
  3. Damn. I’m eyeballing that guac and margarita like mad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 328 other followers

