RSS Feed

Butternut Squash Pumpkin Curry VeganMoFo #1

Posted on

I wasn’t really sure I was going to sign up to participate in VeganMofo this year. The thing is, October-April is my busiest time of year. I work in the employee benefits industry, and this is the time of year when everyone meets about their benefits and decides what they’re going to do for the upcoming year. For me, this means traveling and a lot of public speaking. However, I’ve been working on changing my eating habits, and I’ve found that tracking my food and blogging really helps keep me on top of things. My theme this year is going to be along the lines of eating Whole Foods. It’s not going to focus on living without oil or salt, but I will focus on consuming whole foods. Over the weekend, I experimented with making a curry without adding oil. I don’t have a lot of curry experience because my husband is not a fan of curry in general. (Yes, he’s crazy.)
Ingredients:
one medium butternut squash, seeded, quartered, and thinly sliced
1 cup pumpkin puree
2 medium sized sweet onions, halved and sliced
1 15 OZ can full fat OR light coconut milk
2 cups water
1 vegetable broth cube (not-chicken is a favorite)
4 tablespoons of panang curry paste (I like Arroyo D, it’s oil free) If you’re not a fan of spicy foods, reduce the curry paste to 2T and add more to taste.
Saute onions and butternut squash in a bit of water until they soften, for about 10 minutes. Add in curry paste, and stir to coat all veggies. Then add coconut milk, water, and pumpkin puree. Stir to combine and simmer of medium heat, covered, for 20 minutes. Uncover, and simmer for an additional 15-20 minutes.

Serve over quinoa. Makes 5 servings.
I tend to start the quinoa right as the first round of simmering finishes. I always make quinoa the same way, I rinse the quinoa, then dry cook it until the water has cooked off and the quinoa toasts a bit, then add double the amount of vegetable broth (or water+broth cube), and cook the quinoa, covered, for 20 minutes. I never add any seasonings until it’s cooked, and typically I ONLY add black pepper to it.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. This sounds delicious! Though I’m not a fan of doing anything with a butternut that involves more than one cut. Those things are bastards to cut!

    Reply
  2. Easy peasy – love it. Thanks for sharing the recipe and your quinoa tips.

    Reply
  3. Heat oil in a large pot on medium heat. Add onions, garlic and ginger. Sauté for a few minutes until onions are browned. Add potatoes, carrots and curry paste. Stir around to coat, and then add coconut milk and stir. Bring to a boil. Add broccoli, red pepper and zucchini. Add soy sauce, sugar and lime juice. If sauce is too thick, you may add a little water to thin it out. Lower heat to medium low. Add tofu or beans. Cover and simmer for about 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Serve curry over hot rice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 327 other followers

