RSS Feed

A few of my favorite things…Vegan MoFo!

Posted on

In a perfect world, I’d have an open food budget and I could afford to buy whatever I please, from wherever I please, whenever I want. That’s not reality. However, sometimes I can afford to splurge. Here are some of my favorite, simple things.
Raspberries and coconut milk yogurt for breakfast on a hot summer morning:

Quinoa and Toasted Almonds with hot sauce, and a cooling seaweed salad for lunch.

Pictures are hard to judge at times. This was easily 2 cups of seaweed salad. I got this generous portion at Sushi Yobi.

Before I went vegan, I’m pretty sure you could not have convinced me to try a seaweed salad. Even though I love sushi, I am not a huge nori fan, so the thought of a seaweed salad was kind of off-putting. Until I learned that not all seaweed was created equal that is!
A raspberry and milagro blanco tequila cocktail with just a tiny bit of agave. Smashed berries+agave mix wonderfully with a good blanco tequila.

And dinner would be a long, lazy affair.
First some raosted cauliflower soup with a bit of truffle oil and green onions:

Followed by my current absolute favorite southern meal, kale, red onions, and grits that took 45 minutes of constant stirring to make.

I generally cook my kale in lemon juice, hot sauce, garlic and a little bit of coconut oil when it’s going on top of grits. Otherwise, I stick to hot sauce/oj/tamari/garlic at all times. It’s my go-to.
A note about grits. I actually always thought I hated grits until a couple of years ago. It turns out, I just don’t like instant grits. Real grits are just a white cornmeal version of polenta. It’s funny though; my husband still hates polenta. I think he’s just being picky.
A delicious day like this would certainly need to end with dessert; but let’s be real for a moment; I’d rather have an alcoholic drink than sugar. So I’ll leave dessert to your imagination. What does a delicious day look like to you?

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. omg. I LOVE seaweed salad! I always ask for a double portion whenever we go out to sushi. It’s even better with Avocado!

    Reply
  2. I’m only recently getting into seaweed salad. It’s still kinda slimy but I do like it. Also very interested in yr take on grits. Never really had them, but they sound great with the kale and onions. I’d hope it’s good for 45 minutes of work!

    Reply
  3. I felt the same way about seaweed salad…until I tried it! Now I ADORE it and will get it whenever I can. It’s darn expensive, though, but I feel like it’s worth it, SO yum!

    XOXO

    P.S. Blogger was giving me a bit of a problem, so I missed a ton of comments during MoFo! Yours should all be posted now…I hope!

    XOXO!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 328 other followers

