RSS Feed

RIP Zeppelin

Posted on

zeppelin
We look Zeppelin home with us on July 4, 2008. He was not quite six weeks old, and certainly too young to be adopted, but his mom had abandoned him and his siblings. Right from the start Zep was very different from our other cat, he was more loving, sweeter, friendlier…but he was also a jerk who wouldn’t cover up his poop in the litter box, who insisted on cleaning himself in my lap, and who wanted to sit as close to my face as humanly possible. I mean, the cat liked to sleep on my pillow. Zeppelin was my little buddy. Wes and I have three companion animals, and I love them all, but Zeppelin was MINE. He and Wes had issues, Zep liked to pee on Wes things-frequently. He never did this to me. Our friend Jeff likes to tell the story of how at our old place, Zep was dying to go outside and Wes didn’t want to let him out; so Zeppelin, while looking straight at Wes, walked over to a $300 pair of hiking boots and peed in them. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen Wes so mad. “YOUR CAT RUINED MY SHOES!” Zep liked to pick fights with our other cat, and cuddle with our rescued dog. He liked sitting on heating vents and sleeping on my pillow next to my head. He liked to cuddle.
About six weeks ago on a Saturday I woke up and Zep wasn’t in the house; which didn’t concern me at first because our cats have a habit of sneaking out the dog’s door. By that afternoon though, I was worried. I started to think he’d run off. A week later, i was convinced he was in someone’s house. He’s easily the friendliest cat I’ve ever been around.
I was cleaning trash out of the back yard yesterday (our rescue likes to steal trash and put it outside). I looked up and saw my poor baby dead. He’d been attacked (very recently by the looks of it) by an animal that was clearly much larger than him. I miss him so much. It’s been a really rough couple of days.
zep1

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry. At least you know now what happened to him, but I am so sorry you had to find him that way. Healing vibes for you; I know that was traumatic.

    Reply
  2. I’m sorry!!! He was such a cutie….my thoughts are with you.

    Reply
  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your loss! My heart hurts for you. :(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 329 other followers

