RSS Feed

>More MoFo!

Posted on

>This weekend I found a copy of Moosewood Low-fat favorites and I’m really excited about it! I knew that the moosewood books weren’t vegan, or even vegetarian; so imagine my surprise at 95% of the recipes being vegetarian with no modifications.
So i went through the book and found at least 30 recipes or techniques i want to try out. I’m really stoked and definitely prepared for month of food!
This weekend I made corn-garlic stock; then I made a delicious summery soup.

Corn-Garlic Stock
cut the corn off 4 ears of corn; set the corn aside. Toss your corn cobs, five cloves of unpeeled garlic, and 1 t of Iodized Salt into a pot and cover with 10-11 cups of water. (OR use 2 t of sea salt, I have low iodine levels; so I have temporarily switched back to table salt; which has iodine added, unfortunately, it also has more sodium.) Bring to a boil, then immediately lower the heat to a low simmer and cover. Boil for an hour; then turn off heat and strain out solids. You will end up with 8 cups of stock. Use this immediately or refrigerate for up to a week; freeze for up to six months. For the soup below; you only need 6 cups of stock; I kept the leftover stock to make chili with later this week. I think it will add nice flavor to the chili.

Summer Vegetable Soup
Ingredients:
6 cups corn stock
1 t olive oil
1 t earth balance
1 medium sized onion, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, minced
[i used my mandolin on the next 3 ingredients]
1 russet potato or 2 red potatoes; thinly sliced
1 giant or 2 medium sized zuchhini, thinly sliced
1 medium-large or 2 small yellow summer squashes, thinly sliced
2 cups of cauliflower (or half head) chopped
Corn from 4 ears of corn (if you don’t make the corn stock; use a drained can of corn, or a cup and a half of frozen kernels)

method
In soup pot heat earth balance and olive oil together [i prefer this method; you do not have to use both, but i’m convinced the combination enhances flavors]. Add onion and saute until soft; then add garlic. Once garlic is fragrant; slowly add stock. Add potatoes; cover, and cook for 10 minutes over medium heat. Add squash and cauliflower; cover and cook for another 15 minutes. Last; add corn and cook for no more than 8 minutes. Corn gets really tough if you overcook it.

This is a clear broth soup; I ended up making cornbread croutons and adding them at the end. It really made the soup very filling.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

Leave a Reply

