RSS Feed

>Tofu

Posted on

>I love tofu. I especially love baking tofu. What i don’t love however; is how long you have to marinate it to make it flavorful after you’ve already spent hours getting all the water out of it.
I confess; I’m not one of those people who likes her tofu soft and squishy and flavorless. I like it chewy, and probably too salty. Or fried-fried is always delicious. Yesterday; I discovered a way to make tofu flavorful without marinating it. Here is my method:
5 spice baked tofu:
1 block of extra firm tofu
2 tablespoons or more of chinese five spice (+/-)
2 tablespoons tamari
2 teaspoons brown rice vinegar
1/2 teaspoon Chili Hot Oil (toasted sesame oil with chili oil added; feel free to just use toasted sesame oil)
canola oil spray
spray bottle

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
spray a nonstick baking sheet lightly with canola oil.

Coat the entire outside of your block of tofu with a thick layer of chinese five spice. You should not be able to tell it’s a block of tofu once it’s coated. Slice thinly; i got 16 slices. Spread the tofu out on your baking sheet. Mix together in a spray bottle (or use a cup and a brush) your tamari, brown rice vinegar and chili oil. spray each piece of tofu on the exposed side only with this mixture. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven, flip each piece, and spray the exposed sides again with yoru tamari mixture. bake for 22 more minutes. At this point i pulled the tofu out of the oven, and cut each slice into 4 pieces. I sprayed the pile of pieces with the remaining mixture; turned the oven off and let the slices of tofu sit in the oven for 5 more minutes. Once it had cooled; i put the tofu into an airtight container and poured the remainder of my tamari mixture over it and stuck it in the fridge.
This will be my protein for lunch for the week (i do 4 day work weeks).

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

Leave a Reply

