RSS Feed

>Vegan MoFo #1- Dark Chocolate-Orange Brownies

Posted on

>i love brownies. Who doesn’t? I’m also a Halloween lover; so i wanted to make brownies that suited the holiday that also tasted delicious. I promise; after this post, i should start having pictures to put up. My laptop at home is on the fritz and it’s hard for me to remember to bring my camera to work.
This recipe is based on the Veganomicon recipe for Blueberry Brownies. It’s almost identical; because well; Isa rocks and vegan brownies are tricky.

Ingredients:
10 ounces dark chocolate separated into 6 and 4 ounces; chopped (280 grams total)
10 ounces orange marmalade
1/4 c unsweetened chocolate almond milk
3/4 c raw sugar
1/2 c canola or vegetable oil (not corn or olive)
2 t vanilla
1 1/2 c flour (pastry, all purpose, whole wheat or spelt works)
1/4 c cocoa powder; I prefer green & blacks
1/4 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
3 dried orange slices, chopped finely (you can do this in your dehydrator or in your oven on a low setting. you can also skip this ingredient if you cannot find orangle slices or you aren’t fond of rind like i am).

Halloween Funfetti Frostin

Preheat the oven to 325, spray a 9X13 cake pan lightly with canola oil.

Melt 6 oz of dark chocolate in your double boiler. Make sure to watch this carefully and stir constantly once it really starts melting. While this is beginning to melt; sift together in a bowl and set aside your dry ingredients: flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda & salt.
Once your chocolate is melted; set it aside.
In a large mixing bowl combine marmalade, chocolate almond milk, sugar, oil and vanilla. Mix until everything is very well combined. I’m one of those people who likes to do the “add-in’s” before adding the dry ingredients because I’m afraid of overmixing; so after your wet ingredients are combined; add the remaining chocolate pieces and dried oranges, if using. Once this is well combined; add your melted chocolate and your dry mixture and stir until well mixed.
Pour into your cake pan and bake for 45 minutes. You cannot do the “toothpick” test on these-they’re too fudgy. You have to trust me on the cooking time. You also should be familiar with your oven, so you know if your oven tends to cook things more slowly or more quickly than others.
Remove from the oven and let cool at least 45 minutes.
Frost with Halloween Funfetti frosting; it’s Orange and has ghost, bat and pumpkin sprinkles in it-and while it’s not home-made; it’s certainly vegan and very Halloween-y.
I made these for my brothers while I was house sitting and the entire pan disappeared the same day they were made.
Enjoy!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >GREAT! Now I'm craving Brownies. You wicked wicked vegan you.Happy Mofo'ing!:)

    Reply
  2. >Wow that sounds tasty!! I've made the blueberry version a few times and now I wish I was close enough to drive to your house a demand a brownie! Right now!! đŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. >these were so delicious that i'm now working on a dark chocolate mint version. i will share it before mofo is over.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

