RSS Feed

>Parma&Popcorn, VeganMofo#6

Posted on

>Alright; so even though I didn’t post all weekend- I really was in the kitchen creating delicious things.
In this post; I’m going to share my favorite snack. It’s incredibly simple; but always delicious.
I pop my popcorn stove top with olive oil. Olive oil is not the best oil for popping popcorn because it has a fairly low smoking and burning point; but I love the flavor olive oil brings to popcorn; so I cook mine over medium-low and practice patience. I use about 1 teaspoon of olive oil for every 1/3 c of dry popcorn. Once i’m done; I use a crazy amount of parma on top:

I found a recipe for Parma that I thought sounded delicious; but I had to modify it. I’m one of those people who likes her food heavily spiced. When i post recipes; I tend to scale back on the amount of spices I use; but not this time. I’m going to be experimenting with a version of parma where I use besan (chickpea flour) instead of brown rice flour to see how the flavor changes. I’m wary of sharing recipes with ingredients like chickpea flour because I feel as though this is something most people will not have on hand, and it’s an expensive ingredient to just have sitting around. This parma was inspried by Joanna Vaught of Yellow Rose Recipes.
Parma:
1/4 c raw walnuts
1/4 c raw almonds (do not soak!!)
1/4 c brown rice flour
1/4 c nutritional yeast flakes
1 T garlic powder
1/2 t salt (may adjust to taste)
1/4 t chipotle chili powder* (adjust to taste)
food process all until it’s a lovely yellow powder. Taste to make sure you don’t need more salt or garlic.
Store in the frige in an air-tight container. This is good for a month; but it’s usually gone in 2 weeks tops!
*if you do not like spicy foods; you may omit the chipotle chili powder. I like a little kick personally, but i do not use this variety of parma for pasta. When I’m making parma for italian food, i tend to omit the chili powder and add 1 t of onion powder.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >OOh I love a good vegan parm recipe, thanks for this!

    Reply
  2. >This looks great! Why the rice flour? Does it have a flavor? I've never used it for anything.

    Reply
  3. >Jennifer:the rice flour does have a nice flavor šŸ™‚ If you've ever had brown rice crackers that might help explain the depth of flavor brown rice flour lends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

