RSS Feed

>Pasta A La Summer; VeganMofo#5

Posted on

>I try not to eat pasta as often as I used to. Besides the fact that too much gluten ruins my stomach; I’ve found lately that I rely on carbs to be the foundation of my diet and that’s always a bad thing. Saturday night though; I had a craving and a ton of fresh ingredients. I decided to have veggies with pasta. This recipe feeds one very hungry girl (or boy).
Ingredients:
1 oz whole wheat linguine
6 grape tomatoes; halved
2 cremini mushrooms, chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1/4 of a small onion, chopped
4 nicoise olives, 4 green olives
1 mini graffiti eggplant
1/4-1/2 c tomato sauce (this depends on how juicy your tomatoes are)
1-2 t olive oil
salt
parma
I do tend to salt my eggplant and drain it; for this tiny one i only let it drain for about 5 minutes after I put a pot of water on to boil; while I was chopping the other veggies.
Put a pot of salted water on to boil; I tend to cover mine because i feel like the water boils more quickly.
Saute over medium-low heat in a small pan garlic, onions and drained eggplant until the eggplant is extremely soft. By the time the eggplant is soft; your water should be boiling and you can add your pasta. After adding the pasta; add chopped mushrooms to your saute pan. Once the mushrooms start to soften; add olives and tomatoes and reduce heat. I cooked the tomatoes until the skins started to come off. Add marinara sauce. At this point; the pasta should be done. Drain; sprinkle pasta with parma, and add your veggies. I ended up eating more veggies than I did pasta this time!
My husband added Garlic-Cashew cheese to the portion I gave him; but i thought it was an unnecessary addition of fat. (It was delicious though!).
I think I’m going to share my version of parma…

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

2 responses »

  1. >I eat pasta once a week. I buy the spinach kind and I find it doesn't bloat me out as much as the regular stuff because there's a lot less gluten in it.I always salt and drain my eggplant too, it tastes so much better when cooked if you do this.

    Reply
  2. >oooh where do you find spinach pasta?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

