RSS Feed

>Almond Brie, Vegan Mofo#8

Posted on

>This recipe is modified from a Vegetarian Times Recipe
Necessary tools:
* three layers of cheese cloth or one layer of an organic, white, unbleached piece of a sheet (i used sheets)
*rubber band or twist tie
*parchment paper or a silicone slip mat
*fine mesh strainer
*bowl that fits under the strainer
*baking sheet
*patience

Ingredients:
3/4 cup raw almonds
1/4 cup raw cashews
1/4 cup lemon juice (it is not necessary to use fresh)
2 peeled cloves of garlic
1 t sea salt
3 T Olive oil
1/2 c water

for topping:
1/4 c olive oil
fresh basil
dried cranberries
raw walnuts

Soak almonds and cashews in enough water to cover them completely. After 2-3 hours the skins of the almonds should be loose enough to easily remove by rubbing the almonds; if they’re not ready, just wait until they’re loose. It will happen. This step requires the most work.
The nuts need to soak for a full 24 hours total before you can proceed to the next step.

Once they’ve soaked, rinse them twice and toss them into a food processor. If you do not have a 4 cup or larger capacity processor, make this in batches. Add lemon, garlic, salt, olive oil and water. *Do not skimp on the water. Even if you’re like me and you like your nut cheese thicker, do not skimp!* Unless you have a Vitamix, you need to let this go in the processor for at least 5 minutes, no matter how smooth it looks. This mixture needs to be completely smooth or the consistency will be off.

Set your strainer in a bowl and put your cheese cloth on your strainer. Spoon the almond mixture into your cheese cloth. Wrap the sides of the cloth to form a large navel orange sized ball and secure thightly at the top with a rubberband or twisty. Set this in the fridge to drain for at least 12 hours. Because I work, I let the nut mixture drain for a full 24 hours and I think the flavors developed nicely. I used sheets instead of cheesecloth; this is what it looked like when the nuts had drained:

it’s not pretty; that’s for sure!!

Once this has drained, preheat your oven to 200F or the “warm” setting if you do not have a 200 degree setting. Line a baking sheet with your slicone slip mat or parchment paper, then carefully unwrap your cheese. Place it in the center of the baking sheet and flatten it JUST a little bit. Bake at 200F for 45 minutes, for the most brie like experience; eat this cheese warm. It’s spreadable and creamy. I did not have raw walnuts when I made this batch; but please; use walnuts on top!!

This cheese stays together well and is slice-able and hold-able once it’s cooled. I wouldn’t say it tastes dead-on like brie; because as I recall, brie has a pretty gross musky-earthy-rotten undertones; but this IS delicious and it passed the husband test.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. >hmmm vegan brie? well I shall have to try it. What's the MoFo thing about, btw?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

