RSS Feed

>Blueberry Coconut PieVegan MoFo #10

Posted on

>I confess; this is an old recipe. It’s a modification of a traditional recipe for Haupia; which is a very firm coconut pudding. It’s also a cheater recipe because I use a pre-made graham cracker crust. This is my stand by recipe for when I have to make a dessert but I don’t feel like doing any baking.

Ingredients:
2 cups coconut milk
1 cup almond, soy, or hemp milk (do not use coconut or rice milks)
6 tablespoons sugar
5 tablespoons cornstarch
1/4 t vanilla
1/4 t coconut extract (optional)
1/2 c frozen blueberries
1/4 c unsweetened shredded coconut

Shake your coconut milk well before you start to make sure the fat and the water that have separated in the can are well combined before you start.
Pour one cup of coconut milk, cornstarch, sugar and extracts into a pan over low heat. Stir constantly until the mixture begins to thicken.Add remaining milks and continue stiring until mixture becomes very thick and hard to stir.

Pour into pie crust and sprinkle the top with frozen blueberries and shredded coconut. The heat will cause juices from the blueberries to spread through the coconut mixture. Chill for at least 6 hours or until completely firm.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. >Lacey, does the coconut milk have to be full fat?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

