RSS Feed

>Spicy Chipotle Hummus Vegan MoFO #13

Posted on

>I rarely make hummus at home. It never seems to taste quite as delicious as it does when I buy it at the store. This weekend I decided I was going to make edible hummus at home. I decided to leave the tahini out; because I’m pretty sure that’s what always ruins my hummus. This hummus is VERY SPICY. If you do not like spicy foods; you may want to decrease the ingredients that add heat to the hummus.

Ingredients:
1 can of no salt added chickpeas, drained
Juice of one large or two small lemons
4-6 garlic cloves, depending on size (I’ve noticed lately that my fresh garlic bulbs from the farmer’s market have very small cloves)
3 T olive oil
2 whole chipotle chilis in adobosauce
2 teaspoons adobo sauce from the can of chipotles
1 and 1/2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teasoon salt
1/2 t smoked paprika
sprinkling of smoked salt

food process garlic, lemon juice and olive oil until garlic is pureed. Add chickpeas, chipotle’s and all spices except smoked salt. Food process until completely smooth. Sprinkle with smoked salt and serve or store in the refrigerator in an airtight container for up to five days.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

2 responses »

  1. >I think I'll give this a try; I know exactly what you mean about store bought vs. homemade hummus. This sounds quite good though!

    Reply
  2. >be careful with the chipotles 😉 i like my food extra spicy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

