RSS Feed

>Almond Ricotta Vegan Mofo#14

Posted on

>Most people make their ricotta out of tofu or a tofu cashew combination. I’ve noticed that basil is often invovled; and to me this is just…well..wrong. Ricotta should be pure. It should shine on it’s own.
That being said; here’s the simple recipe I use for flavorful ricotta that pleases every omnivore I know. It doesn’t taste like tofu and it doesn’t taste like basil or cashews either. It’s tangy, not too creamy/smooth, and it’s not extremely heavy. As usual; i recommend rubbing the almonds between your fingers to remove the skins about six or so hours in to the soaking process. My ricotta is just a touch salty and more than a touch tangy. This is how the kind made from whey tastes from what I remember and from what my mom says.

Ingrediets:
1 cup raw almonds, soaked for 48 hours.
juice of one lemon
3 garlic cloves
1/4 c vegetable broth
1 T olive oil
1/2 t white miso
1/2 t salt

Food process all ingredients until smooth; but everything doesn’t have to be ground into a completely consistent spread. I tend to food process the garlic, lemon, olive oil and a few of the nuts first to make sure all the garlic is completely pulverized.
Store this in the fridge for up to 5 days in an air tight container. I use this ricotta for lasagna, lasagna roll-ups, calzones, cheeze cakes (but i leave out the garlic & veg broth and add raw sugar & coconut milk when i do that), salads, pizzas, tempeh sausage-ricotta crescent roll ups and lots more. It’s very versatile.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. >Mmm.. I've been getting into nut based stuff but haven't used almonds yet… this sounds so good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

