RSS Feed

>White Acorn Squash & Ginger-Gold Apple Soup

Posted on

>I had an angry commenter on my last post. I think the anger was misdirected and I’ve removed the comments; but I guess I should address that we’re all human and everyone makes mistakes. Apparently;  the Halloween version of funfetti has dry milk in it this year. The regular funfetti mix was at one time vegan, but no longer is. Again; we all do make mistakes and this just reminds me that ingredients change often and that with any “accidentally” vegan item I need to regularly check the ingredients.

It’s October in the south. Usually it doesn’t start getting very cool here in Nashville until November or so; but this weekend the temperatures dropped to the 30’s. It’s been so hot and suddenly-it’s cold. It’s like fall forget it was supposed to stay for a while.

I got a white acorn squash at the farmer’s market almost two weeks ago. It was definitely an impulse buy; but in my defense; one of the farmer’s had various hard squashes for a dollar each-regardless of size or weight. I hope that means you can understand how I ended up with butternut, spaghetti, white acorn, delicata and red kuri squashes sitting on my counter. Oh, and a pie pumpkin too.
I’ve always loved the combination of squash and apples in soups; so I had to make my own combination.

Ingredients:
1 large white acorn squash (about 1.25-1.5 lbs)
2 small or one large ginger gold apple(s), cored & chopped
1/2 c chopped onion
2 1/2 c vegetable stock
2/3 c sweet white wine (I used Riesling and I highly recommend it) I used this brand
2 T fresh chopped ginger
salt/pepper (optional)

Cut acorn squash in half, de-seed, and steam cut side down for 10-12 minutes.While the squash cools enough to work with; core and chop your apples and chop your onion. Heat onion and apples in 1/2 c vegetable stock  for about 12 minutes. While these things heat and fill your house with the smell of Thanksgiving, scoop the squash out of it’s peeling and set aside. Once your apples and onions are soft, add squash, ginger, wine and the remainder of your stock. Cover and cook over medium-low heat for 20 minutes.
At this point you have two options: the lazy delicious option, or the ‘company is going to eat this’ option. If the soup is for you, I suggest eating it as is, chunky and delicious. If the soup is for company; I suggest strainging out the apple peels and using an immersion blender to puree the soup. Personally- I love the chunks of apples and onions in the soup, but if I was trying to persuade someone to eat my “evil” vegan soup; I’d puree it and make it pretty, then serve the soup with plain yogurt and a couple small pieces of raw apple for garnish.
This is the first pot of soup I’ve made in a while and it was the perfect amount for 4 people to have a normal sized bowl of soup. I generally find that I make way more soup than can be consumed before it’s bad-but not with this recipe.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. >That sounds so good to me right now! I have to see if I can find all of the ingredients.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

