RSS Feed

>Pumpkin Bread W/Pumpkin Spice Glaze-Vegan MoFo #19

Posted on

>I will not claim this is healthy. In fact-it should probably be called Super-Fattening-Pumpkin Cake. I would also say this should be a “guest” recipe unless you have a super high metabolism. I fed all four of these to friends. No one believed it was vegan. The secret ingredient is the coconut milk. The fat in the coconut milk really makes this bread moist!
This recipe makes four mini loaves or one regular sized loaf.

Pumpkin Bread (cake in loaf form!)

Ingredients:
(dry)
1 c all purpose flour
3/4 c whole wheat flour
1 c brown sugar
1/3 c white sugar
1 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
2 t pumpkin pie spice
1/3 c chocolate chips
1/2 c brazil nuts, chopped, toasted
(wet)
1 c pumpkin puree
1/2 c canola oil
1/3 c full fat coconut milk (do not sub light OR So Delicious)

Preheat oven to 350. When it’s preheated toast your brazil nuts for 8 minutes. Grease and flour your pan(s). Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl and set aside.
In a smaller bowl combine your wet ingredients until completely smooth.
Add your wet ingredients to your dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Pour into pan(s). If you’re baking mini loaves, bake for 50-55 minutes. If you’re baking one regular loaf, bake for 75 minutes.
When you remove the bread from the oven, cover with foil and let the bread “steam” for ten minutes, then uncover.
Once the bread has steamed, make your glaze. The recipe below is enough to glaze the bread-not cover it in frosting. It’s unnecessary to have a lot of glaze on something so sweet.

Pumpkin Pie Spice Cream Cheeze Glaze:
1/3 of an 8 oz container of Tofutti Cream Cheeze
1/3-1/2 c powdered sugar
1/2 t vanilla
1 t pumpkin pie spice

Combine all ingredients well. It is not necessary to soften the cream cheeze first as Tofutti gets soft fairly quickly and is very easy to work with.

Remove pumpkin loaves (or loaf) from pan and top with glaze while it’s still warm.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

2 responses »

  1. >Oh yeah! I'm saving this because I have to pick up a few ingredients first.

    Reply
  2. >you don't have to use Pumpkin Pie spice; you can use a blend of cinnamon/nutmeg/ginger i just have lots of it and i adore it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

