RSS Feed

>Lacey’s Super-Spiced Seitan-O-Greatness Variation

Posted on

>I have not had much luck when it comes to seitan except in regards to Julie Hasson’s steaming method. I really like what Joanna Vaught does with food, so I tried her recipe after multiple suggestions that I should do so. I’m not sure what went wrong-but it looked so awful (and tasted just so-so), and we just tossed this. This weekend, my girl Jennifer tweeted about the Seitan O Greatness Recipe and I decided to give Vital Wheat Gluten another chance. I knew I’d need to modify the recipe as I tend to have a heavy hand with spices. Can I just say, there’s a reason this is called Seitan O Greatness? IT’S AMAZING.
Since I did end up changing/adding quite a few things; I’ll share my modifications:
Ingredients:
(dry)
1 1/4 c + 2 T vital wheat gluten
1/4 c chickpea flour
1/4 c nutritional yeast
1 t salt
3 t paprika (you can use smoked, but if you do leave out the liquid smoke)
1 t cumin
1/2 t chipotle chili powder
1/2 t chili powder
2 t garlic powder
1 t onion powder
1/2 t vegetable broth powder
(wet)
3/4 c cold water
4 T tomato paste
2 T tamari
1 t sambal olek (or any chili sauce, this is just my personal favorite)
2 T olive oil
1/2 t liquid smoke
2 cloves minced garlic

Preheat oven to 325.
Mix all dry ingredients together well in a medium-large bowl. In a smaller bowl or measuring cup, wisk wet ingredients together until well combined. Add the wet to the dry and combine. Knead this mixture for at least 10 minutes. I kneaded mine for 12 minutes total and it really made the texture incredible.
Form a log that’s 6-8 inches long, wrap tightly in foil, and bake for 90 minutes.
The seitan is ready immediately. I used this to make bbq sandwiches last night, and this seitan will be my lunch meat this week. I’m stoked because not only was the texture perfect; but because of all the spices I added, this seitan has a wonderful flavor all by itself.
MMMMMMMMMMM.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. >So glad you found one you enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

