RSS Feed

>South-of-the-Border Potato Salad

Posted on

>I’ve NEVER liked potato salad my whole life. Something about the combination of cold potatoes, raw onions, sweet relish (EWW), mustard and mayonaise just never appealed to me. Doesn’t that just sound gross? When i went vegan I started seeing variations of potato salad that sounded, dare i say, good!! Curried and german, oil based, varieties with dill pickle relish…some with tofu. I was impressed and inspired to say the least.
A few things: I don’t like onions raw. I just don’t. I can’t explain why when I simply adore them once they’ve softened, but I just don’t. I also don’t like mixing mustard and mayonaise. It seems wrong. I like these things separately, and I freely admit to mixing mayo and ketchup for fries at times. Another thing that grossed me out about typical American potato salad is the overwhelming amount of mayonaise that most salads contain. Anything that taste like a blob of mayo is disgusting-and i happen to love mayo.

Have I mentioned before that I love Mexican food? Or anything with southwestern flair? Maybe I just love cumin. I also wonder if I’ve mentioned I always cook for one or two people-never more. This recipe is enough potato salad for 4 people as a side.

Ingredients:
1/2 lb tiny potatoes (i used yukon golds. and i mean TINY guys-the round ones that are smaller than fingerling potatoes)
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 t olive oil
2 t taco seasoning
1/8 t chipotle chili powder (can sub regular chili powder if you don’t like heat)
1 T vegenaise (+/- to taste)

Boil the potatoes in well salted water. When they are cooked through; removed from heat and run cold water over the potatoes to stop the cooking and to cool them.

While your potatoes are boiling sautee onion and garlic in olive oil until softened, remove from oil and from heat and set aside.

Once the potatoes have cooled, transfer them to a medium sized bowl and add onions, garlic and spices. Combine well and make sure all veggies are coated in seasoning. Add Vegenaise and gently combine. Refrigerate.

I love my Vegenaise, but like I said, in controlled amounts. Too much of anything (besides uh…cumin or chocolate) sucks!!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

2 responses »

  1. >I've never liked potato salad either!!! I've never cooked it and I haven't eaten it for such a long time. Your recipe sounds really good, I'll give it a try soon, thanks for the recipe. It's fun reading your blog:)

    Reply
  2. >I like potato salad. Wasn't super into it pregan, though. I love to make baked potato salad (sour cream, cheese, bacn bits, and chives). SO good.Hoorah to loathing sweet relish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

