RSS Feed

>Pumpkin Cheezecake w/Candy-Cane Joe-Joe Crust

Posted on

>This recipe makes two 4 inch round ramekins of cheezecake. I’m not sure how else to describe that except to say each ramekin is enough dessert for two adults or one very, very cheezecake loving adult. This recipe is very simple and I based it on my prior omni-cheesecake knowledge. Cheezecake should be simple and the taste should rely on the quality of your ingredients. I have made this recipe using both Follow Your Heart and tofutii varieties; I’ve mixed and matched. My conclusion is that tofutti’s cream cheese has superior taste and texture for this particular recipe, and that follow your heart’s sour cream product is superior to any dairy free sour cream out there. So i recommend using these two brands as I’ve listed below if you have access to them. I think tofutti products may be a little more cost effective and easier to find- at least in Nashville.

Ingredients:
for the crust:
10 candy cane joe-joes (if you do not have access to Trader Joe’s you can use Newman-O’s or Oreos)
2T melted earth balance

for the pie:
1/2 to 3/4 c pumpkin puree I used about 3/4 of a cup this time; but the pie is firmer with less.
6 oz tofutti cream cheese
3 oz follow your heart sour cream
1 1/2 t pumpkin pie spice
1/4 c granulated sugar
1 1/2 t cornstarch
1/2 t vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Grind candy cane joe-joe’s into crumbs in your food processor. Once they’re ground up; drizzle in melted earth balance and food process. Use half of this total mixture in each ramekin. Press the mixture down to the bottom of each ramekin and about halfway up the sides. Try not to eat this amazing mixture because you really do need it all!!

Without rinsing out your food processor, add all ingredients for pie filling to food processor. Food process until everything is completely combined. Taste the mixture to make sure it’s spiced to your taste; if the mixture tastes good to you; pour half this mixture into each ramekin. The mixture will be fairly thick; so you may want to smooth the top of each cheezecake.

Bake for 45 minutes. DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN WHILE YOU BAKE CHEESECAKE. That’s what my mom always said. i’ve never had a vegan cheezecake “crack” but that might be due to the fact that I only make mini cheesecakes.
Let cheezecake cool completely (at least 6 hours) then cover and refrigerate. If you do not let this cool before you stick it in the fridge; you risk condensation issues.
Once this has cooled, enjoy!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

2 responses »

  1. >Do the candy cane joe-joes interfere with the pumpkin at all. I've never used them in a pie crust before. I think I'll definitely have to try this!

    Reply
  2. >i think they were a nice flavor addition; but to make the dessert more everyone friendly i wouldn't use them unless you KNOW people like candy canes. it surprises me how many people hate mint!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

