RSS Feed

>Unhealthy Vegan Bacon. SO Delicious.

Posted on

>yep. I had to title this ‘unhealthy’ because honestly; anything fried then coated in parma is not healthy; it’s fattening and delicious. Which is the point of “bacon.” When I was an omnivore, I like my bacon to be smoky and sweet, salty and fatty-oh and crisp while being chewy. That’s a lot to demand from a substituite, but I think I may have accomplished this.

This recipe only uses half a block of tofu. My husband eats tofu, but not all the time, and I really dislike using an entire block of tofu at a time when I know good and darn well that at best we can finish half of it. Plus, keeping the other block means I can experiment and if the experiment turns out badly; I don’t have to feel bad about throwing food away.
Next time I’m making the whole block. This shiz is DELICIOUS.

Ingredients:
1/2 block extra firm tofu thinly sliced, all excess water removed (i press for 24 full hours honestly)

Marinade:
1 T apple cider vinegar
1 T+ 1 t soy sauce
1 t mesquite liquid smoke
1 T maple syrup
1 t agave nectar (you can use all maple syrup)
1 1/2 t siracha or any other hot sauce (you can omit this but i wouldn’t)

2 t parma  for dusting (i like to use a combo of almonds, walnuts, nooch, brown rice flour, salt and garlic powder)

1 T + 1 t vegetable oil for frying

Mix all marinade ingredients together and pour over sliced tofu. This mixture should really set over night for maximum flavor, but letting it sit for an hour will do the trick. Just know, patience with tofu will make it more flavorful and make you love it even more. I let my tofu marinate for 24 full hours.

Heat oil over medium heat until hot. While the oil is heating, remove your tofu from the marinade, shaking all excess into whatever container you were storing the tofu in. KEEP THE MARINADE. When the oil is hot, carefully place your slices of tofu in oil. Watch out; because oil+water=popping balls of heat. Heat tofu for at least 5 minutes on each side, until it starts to brown and firm up. After you have flipped in the first time, pour about 1/4-1/2 t of left over marinade on to each piece of tofu. Once the second side has browned, flip the tofu again and put the same amount of marinade on the other side of your slices. Be aware that agave and soy sauce both burn easily, so you need to watch the tofu carefully once the marinade has been added. Each slice only needs to cook about 30 seconds once you’ve added the marinade.

Remove the tofu from the oil and dust with parma.

Try not to eat it all at once! This the the only fake bacon I have ever made that even comes close to tasting like the cruel real deal- it has great flavor and it’s more fattening than most meat subs. I ate this with tofu scramble and next time I made gravy for breakfast i will DEFINITELY be using this tofu bacon in it. The flavor really just blew me away.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

9 responses »

  1. >This excites me! Would a suitable substitute for the siracha be something like Tabasco?

    Reply
  2. >you could use tabasco; but siracha is a little sweeter than tabasco so you may want to lower the amount or add it slowly and taste your marinade as you add it.

    Reply
  3. >Hey, it's still not nearly as fattening as actual bacon, so that definitely counts for something in the realm of healthiness! 😉

    Reply
  4. >every time i see bittersweetblog comment i get a little excited. Your blog is amazing!

    Reply
  5. >It WAS your blog! I'm editing my post to make sure the whole world knows you are the genius who created my favorite ever vegan bacon! THANK YOU!

    Reply
  6. >Ooh! I must make this. I need to get maple syrup, though. Can I substiture hickory for mesquite?

    Reply
  7. >Mo: Definitely-use whatever liquid smoke you have. I have used both flavors 🙂

    Reply
  8. >OMG – I cannot wait to try this. I just have to get some brown rice flour to make the parma.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

