RSS Feed

>Smoky Red Bean Burgers

Posted on

>I love veggie burgers. I’m always on the hunt for new recipes that sound amazing. Last week I found this recipe on The Vegan Mouse and I just had to try it out!

I never end up following (non-baked good) recipes to the T. I have to make my own modifications and adjust seasonings, etc. Since these may be the best veggie burgers I’ve EVER had, I had to share Kim’s original recipe as well as my modifications.
As always, I’m cooking for myself and an omnivore, so I try to please him as well. I am going to give full disclosure about brands/methods so that your results can mimic mine.

1 3/4 c cooked azuki beans (i simmered my dried beans for 3 hours and added salt, onion and garlic powder in for the last 30 minutes)
1/2 block of extra firm tofu, all excess moisture squeezed out (I used trader joe’s extra firm)
1 medium sized carrot, peeled and grated
1 small sweet onion, chopped finely
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 c fresh chopped parsley
1/2 c bread crumbs
2 T vital wheat gluten
1 t natural hickory liquid smoke
1 T + 2 t vegan worsteschire sauce
1 T soy sauce
1 t olive oil (optional)
1 T old bay seasoning
1/2 t garlic powder
1/2 t onion powder
1 t smoked paprika
1/4 t salt
1/2 t black pepper

Mash the beans in a bowl. I have found that warm beans are far easier to smash than cooled or straight from the can beans. Once the beans are smashed, squeeze the last bits of moisture from your tofu, and crumble it into small pieces and add to the beans. Stir well to combine, then add the remainder of your ingredients. I used my hands to combine everything really well, and the texture and the way your hands feel after mixing this all together is CREEPY. It’s like…well, real meat. It kind of weirded me out, but not too badly since I know what I put in the mix!
Cover this mixture and refrigerate for at least an hour. The longer you let this mixture sit, the more flavorful your burgers will be. I let mine sit for two hours…and they were amazing.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Spray a baking sheet with canola oil; form burgers into six medium-large sized patties or 8 medium sized patties, and bake for 16 minutes, flip them over, and bake them for 16 more minutes, until they are browned on both sides.

Eat immediately, or allow your burgers to cool and freeze them. I froze half the batch.

These burgers might be the best ones I’ve ever had. This is the new go-to recipe in my house. The husband approves! (you guys have no idea how rare this is. he doesn’t know there’s tofu in these–but that’s okay, because he does actually like tofu and will eat it by choice…)

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >WHOA. I am making these SOON. I would in the next few days but our Christmas feast is planned to a 't' and if I add one more thing to the menu our stomachs and pantry will BUST.I love the sound of these burgers, though. I'm always on the lookout for another great recipe. I bet the beans, tofu and wheat gluten combine to give these a great texture, and texture is a very close second to taste in making a delicious burger.Thanks!

    Reply
  2. >And I'm saving this so I can make them later. Looks good.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Food Rut? | Lacey Loves Food

Leave a Reply

