RSS Feed

>Sweetened Condensed Coconut Milk

Posted on

>This is a short, and very simple recipe. It’s not even mine-but I have no idea where it came from. It’s exciting to know I can make a vegan version of sweetened condensed milk. This means not only is fudge easy to make-but it means I can make vegan macaroons.
This IS time consuming but does not require a lot out of you.

Ingredients:
6 cups Original So Delicious Coconut Milk (do not use Unsweetened)
2 cups sugar

(yep-that’s it!)
Combine your ingredients in a heavy bottomed pan. Cook over medium-low, stirring occasionally for 5-6 hours until the milk becomes very thick and semi difficult to stir. The last half hour requires more attendance and stirring than the rest of the cooking time. Cooking this will reduce your coconut milk to about two cups worth.

I’m going to test this recipe in a crock pot and see if this is something I could let simmer all day on low while I’m at work. Then I won’t have to feel bad about the amount of electricity I’m using just to make a small part of what I need for a recipe.

This is obviously not something I will make regularly; but it is nice to have something to use over the holidays. I have only used this recipe to make a vegan version of Rachael Ray’s fudge. It turned out perfectly-every time.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

