RSS Feed

>Roasted Vegetables & Quinoa

Posted on

>First of all:
Why is it that every time I make millet it never fully cooks? I’m serious. It’s the one grain that constantly fails me; and I’m honestly about to give up on it. I’ve tried toasting and not toasting it; I’ve tried adding way more water than is called for; I’ve cooked it like I cook quinoa…but for longer. IT’S NEVER FULLY COOKED.

I digress. This is what I made for dinner last night. It’s nothing special; but it was delicious and it did remind me that I need to get back to eating simpler things.

Roasted Vegetables with Red Quinoa (because millet doesn’t work for me apparently)

feeds 2
(the veggies)
1 medium sized sweet potato, peeled, diced
2 carrots, peeled, same size dice as above
1 large or 2 small zucchinis, larger dice
1 medium sized onion, large dice
1 leek, white parts only, thickly sliced
4 radishes, cut in half (you can use beets, I just didn’t have any.)
1 T olive oil
1 t paprika
1/2 t cumin
1/2 t smoked salt
LOTS of black pepper

for the quinoa
1 cup Imagine No-Chicken broth (scored the carton for $2 at Kroger-you can’t beat that!)
1/2 c red quinoa
1/2 t cumin

Preheat the oven to 375

Mix all veggies, olive oil and spices in a large bowl. Stir well to coat vegetables evenly with oil and spices. Pour these out onto a baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes, stir the veggies, and return them to the oven for 20 more minutes.

Once you have placed your vegetables in the oven for the second round of roasting; bring your broth and cumin (or water) to a boil. Add quinoa and return to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover and cook for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let quinoa stand.

Toss quinoa and veggies together and enjoy!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. >Have you tried pre soaking? I think I read some recipe that calls for some soaking. Not sure though.This sounds really good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

