RSS Feed

>Black Bean Soup

Posted on

>We all have our go-to recipes for when we need to eat-and fast! Most of mine, admittedly, are not healthy. They seem to always involve flour or sugar or way too much oil.
On Friday I made a pot of black beans and roasted two small sweet potatoes that were looking like they were on their last legs; then I mashed the sweets. I proceeded to stick this stuff in the fridge and didn’t think about it. Yesterday I was starving and I refused to eat any more unhealthy (or oil/carb heavy) foods. And I remember this super easy black bean soup I used to make after work when I was short on time but hungry. Normally sweet potatoes are not in this soup; but I love the black bean/sweet potato combination almost as much as I love chocolate and peanut butter together; so I knew adding them would make the soup even better.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 c dried beans; soaked and cooked (or two cans of black beans-no salt added)
2/3 c liquid from cooked beans OR 2/3 c water
2 small cooked sweet potatoes, skins removed, mashed
1 cup salsa verde
1 cup red salsa
1 small onion, medium dice
2 t cumin
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 t canola oil

In a medium-large pot heat canola oil, onion and garlic until soft. While these things are softening combine in a blender all but 1/2 c of beans, cooking liquid from beans (or water) and all of salsa. Blend until smooth, but it doesn’t have to be completely liquified. Add cumin, sweet potatoes, black bean/salsa puree and the remaining beans to your onion and garlic. Cook until heated all the way through; for about 7 minutes.
This makes a VERY thick and hearty soup. I suppose you could thin this out by adding more water, or some vegetable stock; but this soup as very good flavor and consistency without it.

I have a picture..but you guys know black bean soup isn’t the prettiest; so I’ll refrain from sharing.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >Black bean soup is ALWAYS my favorite thing! I am so loving the idea of putting salsa in soup, that is pure genius.

    Reply
  2. >That soup sounds delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

