RSS Feed

>The best hummus I’ve ever made…or had.

Posted on

>That’s a bold subject line right there.
For years, my two favorite Hummuses (is that..hummi??) were both by Cedar; one was the south-of-the-border variety and the other was lemon. The south of the border variety is like hummus meets salsa. Three years ago I stopped being able to find this variety ANYWHERE. I then found and fell in love with Bobbi’s Hummus. At $7.99 for a (16 oz!) tub I stopped being able to justify the expense long ago.
I let it go, and experimented at my house.

This weekend, I saw a recipe that I knew I had to try. You can find it here on Get Sconed! I made half this recipe; but kept the amounts of coconut milk (I used light) and tamari (I used low sodium) the same as were recommended in the original recipe. I also used the full amount of curry paste because I LOVE CURRY. One more thing..I used acorn squash because it was what I had. In the interest of full disclosure; I used peanut butter instead of tahini (the recipe recommends tahini as an alternative). After tasting this hummus I really think I might be one of those people who really prefers that her hummus be made without tahini. Blasphemy? NO WAY. It turns out; that the Bobbi’s hummus I mentioned above is made without tahini too. Nice.

This is the best hummus I’ve ever had/made. Make some. Seriously. GET ON IT. I can see using this hummus hot, as a creamy sauce for noodles on a cold day. Or as a spread on sandwiches. or…on anything really. I mixed some up with lemon juice and used it as salad dressing.

All i know is: hard squash+garlic+curry+chickpeas+coconut milk=WIN. and you need some.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >Thanks for sharing the link to this recipe. I've never heard of hummus made from those ingredients but it sounds amazing! I'll have to try it out someday 🙂

    Reply
  2. >I'm a pretty serious hummus connoisseur, if I do say so myself, so I'll have to give this unusual combo a try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

