RSS Feed

>Sun-Dried Tomato-Greek Olive Pesto

Posted on

>One of my favorite blogs to read is The Voracious Vegan. I love the way Tasha writes, and I love the wonderful pictures of the healthy food she eats. I have noticed that she mentions this Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto that Kristen, at Kristen’s Raw makes pretty often. The recipe is easy enough, and I had an extra bag of Sun-Dried tomatoes from Whole Foods that I had no idea what to do with, so this weekend I got creative. Basil is not really in season here, so it’s expensive and it looks like crap. I couldn’t really forgo the Basil completely; so I bought one of those little packages of Organic Basil from Trader Joe’s and decided I’d modify the rest of the recipe to my taste. My end result was nothing short of Amazing. Here is a link to the original  recipe if you want to try this Kristen’s way; which I’m sure is amazing. I made this using things I had at my house. I did actually have the pine nuts that Kristen uses; but I prefer walnuts in my pesto, not only are they cheaper, but they give a creamer consistency. And then there’s the issue of parma… I can’t call something pesto if there’s not parma in it. It’s just blasphemy. (Or I really love parma…shhhh). I had extra olives in the fridge that were nearing their prime, so I threw those in too! I did use garlic powder instead of fresh garlic; because I wanted the garlic flavor to be evenly distributed and I’ve had a few mishaps with garlic not breaking down enough in the food processor; it’s rare, but devastating when it happens.

Ingredients:
6 oz sun dried tomatoes (NOT the kind in oil) soaked in enough water to cover them for 2 hours
1/4 c of the sundried tomato water
1/4 c fresh basil
1/3 c walnuts
3 T parma (you can use nutritional yeast if you like)
6 olives (i used a greek mix, 3 green, 3 kalamata)
1 t garlic powder
1/2 t salt (i used Himalayan Pink Salt-this is optional because olives are salty)
juice of 1 fresh lemon (2 T)
1/3 c good quality olive oil (you can taste the flavor of the oil, so use one you like!)

Food process all ingredients. I started out with the walnuts and basil because I wanted to make sure they were ground/pulverized well, then added all other ingredients and food processed the mixture until it was smooth. If you’re weary of adding so much water, add the water last, as your puree your ingredients and add the amount you prefer.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. >I have never cooked with sundried tomatoes. Not sure why. Seems like they may rock! 🙂

    Reply
  2. >This sounds so good! I just got some Himalayan pink salt from Sustainable Sourcing https://secure.sustainablesourcing.com and I think I'll try it out in this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. >^^ 謝謝你的分享,祝你生活永遠多彩多姿!........................................

    Reply

Leave a Reply

