RSS Feed

>Curried Azuki Bean & Winter Squash

Posted on

>On Twitter this weekend I noticed someone RT’ing a picture of a dish from Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet and I’ll be honest-it was one of the recipes in her book that I felt like wasn’t really a recipe. Honestly, a lot of the “super” recipes are way too simple for my taste. I do ‘get’ the idea; but I like spices.
The original recipe calls for 4 ingredients: Azuki beans, winter squash, kombu, and shoyu. Sounds boring, right-especially when you consider that the kombu is just used when you’re soaking the beans! I need spice in my life. Anyways; when I saw the posting I already cooking some Azuki beans, and I was going to make smoky red bean tofu burgers; but I was lacking a really important ingredient (fresh parsley) so I decided to improvise on Alicia’s recipe…and I ended up with something curried and delicious. I made Vegan Dad’s Coconut Quinoa (scroll down for recipe) to accompany this because I had extra coconut milk and because Quinoa is healthier than brown rice (well, in my mind it is). I added 1/2 t garam masala to the quinoa to take away from the earthiness. This meal came together nicely.

Ingredients:
1 cup dried azuki beans (soaked over night)
1 T coconut oil
8 Cups water
Bring mixture to a boil, reduce to a simmer and cook for at least 90 minutes. You want the beans to get nice and soft, almost mushy. I cooked mine for 3 hours. Add to the pot:

1 small butternut squash, peeled & cut in 3/4 inch chunks
1 large sweet potato, peeled & cut in 3/4 inch chunks
Bring mixture to a boil and cook until squash is soft, for about 20 minutes; leaving the lid on the pan slightly open.

Strain 2 cups of cooking liquid off; you don’t want this mixture to be soupy. You want it to be like a super thick stew, or a ragout of beans and squash almost. You may even need to strain more than 2 cups of liquid off-you’re about to add coconut milk anyways; so don’t worry about the mixture getting dry!

Add:
3/4 c coconut milk
1 T garam masala

1 t turmeric
1 t cumin
1 t salt
1/2 t hungarian paprika
1 t coconut oil
2 T Shoyu (optional. I really thought this could use more salt after I’d simmered it for a while).
Simmer for 20 minutes uncovered; this will help some of the liquid cook off.

I started the quinoa after adding all the spices and the coconut meal and everything was ready at the same time. This is a really filling and full of fiber meal.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. >While the flavors sound like they'd come together nicely, I have a question about the presentation. Is it kind of mushy-looking? One of those for-family's-eyes-only type of meals?I want to give this a try, but I want to make sure I know what I'm in for. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. >It is slightly mushy, here's a link to a picture: http://www.thekindlife.com/post/azuki-beans-with-kabocha-squashit pretty much looks exacty like this πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. >Thanks for linking the pic. I think it's worth a shot. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. >Hello,We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com. We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,enjoy your recipes. Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already membersand benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com. To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on "Add your site" Best regards, Vincentpetitchef.com

    Reply
  5. >Four ingredients?! What the hell. I'm all for simplicity, but that's ridiculous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

