RSS Feed

>Cumin-y Quinoa Tabboleh

Posted on

>I’m trying to be better about using the things I have at home to cook. There’s no point in stock piling food…at least that’s what I’m trying to tell myself. I had all the ingredients at home to make tabboleh except for bulgar. Quinoa is healthier in my mind than bulgar, and it’s still a wonderful “grain” (it’s a seed really), so I chose to use quinoa. I’ve noticed recently that I’m not consuming nearly enough protein OR enough veggies; so I did add chickpeas to this recipe. I LOVE cumin, so I really had to use some; I just think it adds a lot of flavor to any dish. I’ve been getting huge bags of cumin on the cheap at Mitchell’s Deli in East Nashville, so I have no reason to limit myself. They have quite a lot of other spices that are really cheap in there as well, so If you’re in Nashville-Check it out!

Ingredients:
(for the quinoa)
1 1/2 c water
1/4 c lemon juice
1/2 t cumin
1 cup quinoa

Wash your quinoa twice-trust me; you need to do this. Bring all ingredients to a boil; reduce heat to medium-low (simmer), cover and cook for 15-17 minutes; until liquid is gone. Allow to cool completely before moving forward. I put mine in the fridge and it took just under an hour to cool down.

Veggies+Dressing
1/4 c olive oil
1/4 c lemon juice
2 t salt (+/- to taste; I think i may have used more, this is the one thing I didn’t measure)
1/2 t cumin
1/4 t paprika
1 1/2 c chickpeas cooked, rinsed and drained
1 large seedless cucumber, chopped
4 roma tomatoes, chopped
1 cup parsley, minced, large stems removed
lots of fresh pepper

Mix olive oil, lemon juice, salt, cumin, paprika, and pepper together to make a dressing. Mix this with your quinoa, then add all your veggies and combine well. Enjoy!

And…here’s not the greatest cell phone pic. I can’t find my camera cable since my husband “organized” my bedroom. He’s insistent that I lost it…but I disagree.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. >I looove using quinoa for tabbouleh, it usually turns out great! Plus I always have it on hand.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

