RSS Feed

>My mom’s cookies

Posted on

>When I was a kid; we were pretty poor. I didn’t know it at the time, but we were. My mom always made sure we had a lot of good, healthy food. My mother never bought cokes or candy; and she rarely made anything frozen for dinner. BUT: when it came to the holidays, or just a special day in general, my mom would always bake something. Usually these super simple, low sugar cookies that are shortening based. These cookies don’t look like any cookie I’ve ever had before. They’re super white and they don’t (and won’t) brown in the oven. Unless you want to actually burn them anyways. The recipe is one of the simplest I’ve ever heard. I’ve known this recipe by heart since I was 5. I’m serious. The original recipe is still a guarded family secret. My mom insists that none of us write it down or share it with the public…much like her family German Chocolate Cake recipe.

I’ve always kept my promise to only bake these cookies, and never share the recipe. AND; since they’re not vegan, I won’t be breaking my promise by sharing the veganized version of the recipe. HEH. Like I said; these are super simple cookies. The original recipe is so old that it even calls for self rising flour. I can’t believe “they” (whoever THEY is) still make self-rising flour.

Veganized Version of my mom’s cookies:
Preheat the oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with a slip mat or parchment paper.

mix and set aside:
3/4 t Ener-G
1 T warm water

in a small bown combine and set aside:
1 1/4 c flour
1/2 t salt
1/2 t baking soda

In a medium-large mixing bowl:
1/2 c shortening (crisco is vegan and probably the cheapest option.)
1/4 c white sugar
1/2 t vanilla

When the shortening, sugar and vanilla have been combined; stir in your ener-g/water mixture until completely incorporated.

Add flour in batches. You will definitely need to add 1-2 teaspoons of water to the dough; and you may even need to use your hands to work all the flour in. The resulting dough should NOT be sticky at all. If it is; you added too much water and you need to add more flour. The dough should be almost “dry” for a cookie dough.

chop 2 ounces of fine chocolate (about half of a good bar); i chose to use a crystallized ginger chocolate this time. Add chocolate to the dough and combine.

Using a Tablespoon; scoop out rounded tablespoons of dough and flatten slightly with your hand. You should end up with 15 cookies. These cookies do not spread while baking; so don’t worry about giving them a lot of room on the baking sheet.

Bake for 10 minutes…or eleven if you oven tends to bake things slowly. Do not over bake because you’re waiting for them to turn golden…it’s not going to happen. It is better to undercook these than to overcook them; but 10 minutes is a perfect amount of time.

Enjoy. And don’t tell my mom I shared my veganized version of her recipe. She may come after me.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

2 responses »

  1. >Haha. Thanks for sharing the recipe! It sounds super simple and delicious.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Broke Holiday Weekend=Lots of Cooking « Lacey Loves Food

Leave a Reply

