RSS Feed

>This very hungry caterpillar, cupcakes, and Summer Ale

Posted on

>This gorgeous guy..he ate my entire parsley plant. No joke…I went outside on Saturday morning and he was finishing up the last few leaves.

Isn’t he AWESOME LOOKING?
And this weekend; the only restaurant in town that is vegan unless otherwise requested (AKA; they keep cow’s milk cheese on hand, but unless you request it, your meal is vegan), The Wild Cow Vegetarian happens to be oh, a block from my house. Literally…I can walk down an alley and I’m there. This is dangerous, especially since they have different raw desserts and lots of different cakes and cupcakes every day. It’s bad. sometimes I don’t look at Twitter so I’m not tempted. Anyways, they had a bake sale this weekend and the proceeds went to help animals. My husband, that sneaky man, went and picked up four cupcakes:
From the top left, going counter clockwise: Pistachio Rosewater, Triple Chocolate, Pineapple Coconut, and Chocolate Orange Blossom. Wes inhaled the Triple chocolate one before I got a great picture.  Here’s another picture of the delicious cupcakes:
As you can see; Wes tainted my pistachio frosting with some of his chocolate. Oh well…chocolate makes almost everything better. I liked these cupcakes a lot; but I’ll be honest: I’m going to stick with their raw desserts. I’m one of those people who doesn’t like to buy food I can make at home; and I could make these cupcakes. What I can’t mimic is the raw tiramisu or (even better) the raw chocolate coconut cheesecake (two layers). While the raw desserts are on the expensive side ($9, plus the charge for an eco friendly to-go container), they’re more than worth it. Plus, if you don’t want to use a to-go container; you can bring your own and sign a waiver saying your container is contaminated ❤
Besides this…I had a great weekend. Let’s just say that Summer Ale is my new fave; so I’ll share a simple recipe with you. This recipe makes 2 gallons of Summer Ale:

Ingredients:
5 cups of Rain Organic Vodka (Stolichnaya and Absolut work, don’t use cheap vodka!)
2 tubes of frozen lime-ade concentrate
1/4 c organic lime juice
17 Yuengling Light beers (PBR & Budweiser work too, use a neutral beer-nothing dark, no pale ale)

Mix the limeade, lime juice and vodka together. Stir until limeade concentrate has dissolved into vodka. Add beers, stir well, chill.

Serve over Ice.

This does not taste like beer and it does not taste like vodka…it just tastes delicious! If you cannot afford to spend the money on a good quality vodka, you can use a Brita or PUR water filter pitcher and filter a lower quality vodka 4-5 times to improve the flavor of the vodka. I strongly recommend doing this if you’re not going to purchase a vodka that you could drink on it’s own. This morning someone mentioned seeing a recipe of this made with raspberry limeade. I’m not sure that’s something I would like because I’m not a fan of super sweet + acidic drinks; but it’s certainly something to consider if you’ve got a crowd who prefers sweeter drinks. You could also switch up the beer and go with something lighter and fruitier if you pleased; but keep in mind that a pale ale or a very dark beer will really change the flavor of the drink and make it more bitter. A neutral beer works best because the flavors stay balanced that way. Make some summer ale, change people’s lives. ❤

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

9 responses »

  1. >Those cupcakes look amazing! Too bad about your parsley, at least the little guy is cute!

    Reply
  2. >I am seriously intrigued by the pistachio rosewater one. Sounds good!

    Reply
  3. >不論做什麼事,相信自己,別讓別人的一句話,把你擊倒。..................................................

    Reply
  4. >Hey Kunty! Hope you don't mind me callin' you that. 🙂 Anyway, I'll actually in Nashville this weekend and I'm soooo going to Wild Cow for dinner on Saturday night! If you're free, you should come too. Unfortunately, I'm not sure what time yet that I'll be there. My bf and I are driving to Clarksville after I leave work today and spending the night there … and then heading into Nashville in the mid-afternoon to spend the night at the bf's sister's place.I've never been to Wild Cow, but I've been drooling over their menu since they opened. I'm probably going to gorge there until I make myself sick. Anyway, if you're free and wanna join and are time-flexible, shoot me an email at phillipsbianca[at]gmail[dot]com and I'll send over my phone number. I'm thinking it'll be around 6-ish. But I'm sorta at the mercy of the boyfriend and his sister, time-wise.

    Reply
  5. >相逢即是有緣~~留個言問候一聲,祝您平安順利...............................................................

    Reply
  6. >Love your blog. The cupcakes look amazing. The caterpillar pictures are cool as well. We have those guys hanging out in our garden. Our two little guys loved them.

    Reply
  7. >I had your caterpillars twin eating my entire parsley plant a few months ago! I tried to move him, but eventually felt bad because he obviously liked parsley the best…so back he went to finish up the entire plant. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

