RSS Feed

>Crenshaw Melon

Posted on

>Have any of you all ever had one of these? I freaking LOVE them. I think I’m going to try growing some next summer. The outside should be bright yellow and the inside is a pale orange; definitely lighter than cantalope. I usually only like watermelon; but these are amazing. You can even turn them into an adult beverage: blend them up with some rum or coconut rum and a little simple syrup and you have a refreshing, super-hydrating, alcoholic smoothie. YUM.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. >I haven't tried one, but I did see them at a market the other day and wonder if I'd like it. Now I'm going to have to pick one up. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. >My mom was just telling me about those melons recently. With your recommendations combined, I may just have to get one! And I've never really been into mixed drinks, but now that I'm getting older and not able to just sit around taking shots all of the time I think something like that recipe is one that I can make for the whole family. Thanks for the idea πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. >Marja: You can make the melon drink with simple syrup and some vanilla non dairy milk too πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. >Oh, I now see that I was confusing! Haha. I will definitely be trying the alcoholic version! Rest assured. I just meant that this is a drink that mid-twenty year olds can make for and drink with their parents and other "adults"—and be taken seriously! πŸ™‚ At home my partner and I just drink liquor from the bottle, haha. So what I really meant was: ooh, fancy!

    Reply
  5. >Oooh, melon and rum. That's something to try. I haven't had, seen, or though about crenshaw melons in years, but we used to eat them as a kid. My mom liked them better than cantaloupe, so that's what she would buy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

