RSS Feed

>Vegan on $21 a Week…

Posted on

>Vegan on $21 a week Challenge Rules
I saw on Twitter that VeganHope is doing something I found pretty interesting to show people that no matter what your economic status; you can afford to be vegan and be healthy! The challenge is essentially to spend $21 per person to eat in a week. You’re supposed to use the food stamp budget amount of money to make your purchases. (In TN you get more than $21/week for food stamps though; I know that for a fact. You get about $45 per week; my single friend with no income gets $180 per month…I’m wondering if the number the challenger issued was based on what her state does.) You’re supposed to show what you bought and what you’ve eaten. Part of the rules of the challenge don’t sit well with me because they don’t seem right; so there are two things I am changing (for myself anyways).
1. The contest states if you use your own oil you’re to deduct $3 from your budget. I can find oil at Dollar General stores for $1 and cooking spray is often even cheaper than that at Big Lots. I will be deducting $1 for oil, not $3.
2. The contest also says if you use your own spices then you’re to deduct $3. Again; Dollar General sells spices for fifty cents each; and getting them at Turnip Truck is even cheaper. The Turnip Truck sells spices in bulk; and when i buy just what I need for a recipe; I spend under 5 cents per spice; so I will buy spices when I need them and in the amounts I need to save money and stretch my food dollars further.

The only thing that will probably bother me on this challenge is not having my morning smoothie (which would actually fit into the budget dollar wise; but if I can’t use anything but an oven and a microwave…no smoothies.

I hope some of you decide to take part in this challenge. You’re to choose any week in the month of August ❤

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. >Hm this is interesting. I might have to try it out at some point. I am not sure if right now is the best time, and not sure how I would factor in the CSA, since I already paid for it. Good luck though!And I like the new layout, the blue is pretty.

    Reply
  2. >Ooh fun! I write for the Memphis Flyer (like the Nashville Scene) and some of my co-workers did a similar challenge a couple years back for a cover story on what it's like to live on a food stamp budget. They weren't vegan though. That's a fun twist! I'd sign up, but I'm super-testing for my cookbook right now to get it done…and I can't limit spending restrictions at this time. Good luck though! I'll be following!P.S. I *heart* the Turnip Truck! I wish Memphis had an indie health food store….all we have is a Whole Foods, which pales in comparison to the bad ass WF in Green Hills.

    Reply
  3. >Sounds like a great challenge. There is a super cheap farmers market down the road from my house that would make this much easier for me then for some others. :)You have earned the Happy 101 award, stop by my page and claim it!

    Reply
  4. >We are doing this challenge as well. We really like your blog.twoveganboys.wordpress.com

    Reply
  5. >死亡是悲哀的,但活得不快樂更悲哀。. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

