RSS Feed

>$21 Dollar Vegan

Posted on

>I decided to start my $21 vegan challenge. I’m taking a slightly different approach than was suggested by Vegan Hope; but I have to do what I can.
Wes and I keep a LOT of food on hand at our house. We keep canned beans and veggies, several kinds of pasta (quinoa, rice, buckwheat, traditional, soba noods, bean threads), brown rice, red quinoa, dried beans, spices, frozen fruit and frozen veggies on hand AT ALL TIMES. If the world’s food supply is tainted; we’re good for at least 3 months before I’ll start to freak out. I search for the best deals and when I see a good deal; I seize the opportunity. Did you know that canned beans and canned tomatoes are just sixty cents each at Target, that bananas are 39 cents per pound at aldi’s, spices are a mere 50 cents each at Dollar General, avocados are 70 cents at K&S World Market, Organic Soba Noodles are $1 at Big Lots and garlic is just $0.25 a bulb at the Farmer’s Market? Also; I currently have peaches that were 30 cents per pound thanks to my Whole Foods discount. Peaches will be featured here! I like to shop around and stock up when I see a good deal; and all these stores are less than 5 miles from my house. While I am on this plan; I will mostly be consuming foods that were already at my house. I will stick to the $21 budget while using mostly what I have and add up items accordingly.
Last night I put together an eggplant chili for lunch this week. I’ll have this with a Kale Salad for lunch at work all week. I scored a 4 lb bag of Kale at Whole Foods for $1.49 yesterday…(plus the discount!), someone in produce loooooves me.
In the eggplant chili:
Medium eggplant ($0.50 at the farmer’s market), 3 cloves of garlic ($0.25 for the bulb), one yellow onion ($0.25 cents-I got a bag of 4 for $1), 28 oz can of Muir Glen tomatoes ($1 after my $1 coupon at Big Lots), 1 cup frozen corn $0.33  (bag was 99 cents and has 3 cups), 1 can black beans ($0.60), 1 can dark red kidney beans ($0.60), Chili powder, cumin, paprika ($0.50 for a container of each) and salt (freebie; but if I had to pay…$0.39 at Big Lots for those trying to find the cheapest source!). If you count up the cost of all my ingredients; including the  ones I’ll be using in future meals; I spent $5.03 on making lunch for the week; plus about a $1 for a weeks worth of salads. The rest of the garlic, onions, and spices will be used in different tacos/sauces this week. I hope I can make it through this challenge!
For breakfast all week I’m having smoothies; but forgoing the protein that goes in them because protein powder is expensive!! I get a bag of blueberries from Whole Foods for $1.50 with my discount, I bought 7 bananas for $1 and I have a quart of soymilk that I scored for $1; and i’ll be throwing in kale from the giant discount bag I got. My smoothies for the week will cost me $4 (if i include $0.49 for the rest of the cost of the Kale). At this point; I’ve spent $10 of my budget on covering breakfast for the week and lunches for the week. I have planned out what my dinners will be too; but I’ll photograph those to share with you. I’ll take a picture of my lunch in a couple hours when lunch time comes. I’d love it if you all participated in this challenge; or if you could make it a point to spend less than $10 this week at the grocery store and eat things you already have instead 🙂

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >i will have to check out the target canned bean selection. i like to keep a few cans on hand and surprisingly i have found the cheapest at Whole Foods for $0.89.

    Reply
  2. >I'm doing the $21-a-week challenge too. I love Aldi's and I haven't been to Big Lots in awhile so I should totally recheck that place out. The challenge is a good idea because it forces me to start using all the stuff I've been crazily stockpiling in my pantry. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

