RSS Feed

>personal post is personal…but for you!

Posted on

>You know how people think vegans are skinny? Well, not all vegans are! I’ve gained 40 lbs since I went vegan; which obviously does not make me happy. It sucks to have to buy new, bigger clothes and to feel uncomfortable in your body. I freely admit I’ve never been much for exercise, but I’m making it part of my mission to make exercise a daily habit. My mom has exercised every day of her life since she was 9. She says she doesn’t feel right if she skips it. And guess what? My mom is a total MILF! She’s gorgeous, she’s in great shape and she even wears great clothes and shoes. I always assumed that people who aged well have good genes in their family, but I can’t say that about my mom. Her father died of stomach cancer before he was 30 (I think; I know she was only 6 when this happened), her mom had heart disease and died suddenly of a heart attack, her brother was mentally not well and died before he turned 40 and her other brother has such a bad heart that he’s not even allowed to walk around his house, much less work. My mom is the only one of the bunch who eats a healthy diet and exercises regularly; and she’s a picture of great health. She’s the only one of the group that’s not overweight and that doesn’t look 20 years older than her age; even among her cousins. (Did I mention my mother is amazing? She raised all four of us kids on her own and she did a damn good job!! I love my mom so much…I’m getting off track). Anyways; my mom’s in great shape because she eats a healthy diet, exercises regularly, drinks plenty of water, and rarely drinks alcohol.

This is my mom; when we were in Las Vegas a couple of months ago. She’s about 5 inches shorter than me which is why it looks like I’m looking down at her. πŸ™‚

I got off track by talking about my mom. Anyways; I am very unhappy with the weight I have gained in the last couple of years. It makes me uncomfortable and I’m not 20 anymore; I can’t just eat less calories and drop weight; it just doesn’t work anymore. I will probably be taking at least a two week break from food blogging because on Monday I’ll be starting The Master Cleanse. I think a cleanse is just what I need to reset myself; and The Master Cleanse has always made me feel better. After I finish; I’ll start a juice/smoothie/raw salad plan while it’s still warm and lots of local, fresh produce is available. While I am on The Master Cleanse I will be doing yoga daily, and depending on my energy levels, I may do some spinning. This is something I have to do for myself. I have bad genes in my family (diabetes on my dad’s since I didn’t go into that), but my mom’s way of life seems to overcome disease pretty darn well. I am definitely one of those people who thinks I choose my path, and I know that I can do this cleanse so that I feel better about myself. I will probably end up blogging about how I feel and what I’m learning..or even how hard it is not eating. Day 7 is pretty hard if I remember correctly. I know it’s the weekends that will be the hardest. Wish me luck!
About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

11 responses »

  1. >Good luck! I've lost about 30lbs over the past two years, it was a slow process, but I feel so much better now. So if you ever need any encouragement, I am here for you!And your mom is gorgeous!

    Reply
  2. >Thanks!! I am hoping to lose at least that much myself; I'd like to lose all that I've gained, but we'll see!

    Reply
  3. >Good luck! I am not athletic and don't care much for exercise either. I do it, but I'm still looking for an activity I enjoy for more than the results. I am also experiencing the effects of age making it easier to gain weight and harder to lose. I'm sure you can do it, though, now that you've decided it's time.

    Reply
  4. >Good luck!!! I find it's best to cleanse when you're not already in a solid exercise program, so now may totally be the best time for you! I also love the "reset" value of cleansing, but last time I tried a juice fast I was already running 4 days a week, and I could barely make it one day on so few calories. I know you're going to do great, though! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. >Good luck! I'm considering a cleanse as well, but wasn't able to get through the master cleanse previously. I'm interested to hear about how it makes you feel during and after.

    Reply
  6. >I think it's great to publically announce goals – good to get support from your friends and audience and keeps you accountable, at least I think that helps me. I always feel disgruntled when I hear people brag about losing weight when becoming vegan…there's so much delicious food, it's hard for me!!! I have a good 10-15 pounds that won't budge. Good luck to you – sorry for intruding in the conversation; I was just looking through your blog so I thought I'd let you know I stopped by. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. >ηœŸζ­£ηš„ζœ‹ε‹δΈζœƒζŠŠε‹θͺΌζŽ›εœ¨ε˜΄ε·΄δΈŠ......................................................................

    Reply
  8. >Good luck!!!Your Mom is a totally gorgeous woman….and you are well on your way!Looking forward to your progress notes!xo

    Reply
  9. >Your mom is totally a MILF!!! Hotness!

    Reply
  10. >g'luck Lacey! for the record, you're a fox.

    Reply
  11. >Good luck! I hope the Master Cleanse works well for you. I don't know if I could do it, but I'll cheer you along, anyway! I'll be interested to read about your experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

