RSS Feed

>Annnnnnnnnnnnd It’s On!!

Posted on

>The Master Cleanse is happening…only not right this second. I was gifted with a crazy amount of free, local, produce and I cannot bring myself to cook and freeze it all. So this week (and possibly next week…the amount of produce I have right now is insane) I will be on a raw diet. I will be 85% raw; I have hummus that needs to be eaten and I’m not ready to give up my morning matcha tea just yet. Since my plan was to go raw after this cleanse; I went ahead and bought a few things I was lacking. (Hey thanks for the free produce friend!!) I think this might be a good way to prepare for The Master Cleanse. It should certainly be less shocking to my system. Those of you who’ve done this cleanse know that days 6-11 are the hardest. Day 5 is when the detox begins and you start to smell funny. You also get a fabulous white tongue. It’s super sexy. You also get that I can’t get clean/stop feeling greasy look. Like I said; it’s hot!

Being raw requires planning, especially if this is not already the way you live. You need to have nut cheeses and energy bars prepared; and if you eat dehydrated things; you need to have those things available easily. I also try to keep raw trail mix, a homemade luna bar, or raw granola in my purse. This means if I get hungry; something raw is easily availabme. I have been raw before; but it’s been a long time. I worked at Wild Oats when I was last raw and that made it much easier and more convenient. So…I have a plan. I have written down what I will eat each day and when it’s time to prepare more kale chips, and when it’s time to soak more nuts. I have a set exercise program that is doable and that will not overwhelm me. In case you’re interested in what kind of exercise I’ll be doing, I have access to a fitness center in my office building. I am very lucky. It’s also extremely hot in Nashville right now; so I don’t want to do exercises during lunch that will leave me sweaty and flushed. I’ll be cycling for a half hour during lunch each day; and after work I’ll alternate between doing a half hour of wii boxing and level 1 of the 30-Day Shred with Jillian Michaels.

Here’s what I plan on eating today:
1. Breakfast Smoothie: 1 frozen banana, 1/2 c wild blueberries, 6 oz coconut water, 1 T spirulina/20 oz goji green tea w/matcha

Lunch: carrot and celery sticks with lemon hummus. Salad: 1 c spinach, 1 c arrugula, 8 cherry tomatoes, 4 T walnut taco “meat”, 1/4 of an avocado mixed with hot sauce and lime juice for “dressing”

Snack: 1 plum, 1 pear (who knows if I’ll eat both)

Dinner: Noochy Kale Chips, mushrooms marinated in lemon juice+fresh parsley, carrot sticks w/miso cashew cream. The miso-cashew cream was an amazing accident. I had a chance to use the coconut aminos I discovered yesterday and can I just say…WOW?! Cashew cream virgins: the trick is to soak your nuts and don’t be afraid of adding quite a lot of water to your cashews. You can get cashew cream to be super smooth hummus consistency if you make it right!!

dessert/night time sugar craving: Raw Brownie made of cashews, macadamia nuts, dates, golden raisins, raw cocoa, ape-date sweetner (addictedtoveggies.com), and a smidge of raw coconut oil.

Besides the smoothie; which is half gone; I’ll at least take camera phone pictures of my food and edit this post with them. I hope you have a healthy Monday!! If any of you all see me posting any food you want to recipe for, let me know and I’ll add them. Raw food seems so basic and easy for me, but I have a lot of cooking experience. Let me know ❤

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. >Good luck with this! I know it's hard. I tried a 30-day mostly raw cleanse (raw breakfast/lunch, cooked dinner of whole foods) in January, and I like to died by the end. It was so cold outside, and I really, really missed cupcakes and wine and bread and coffee. But I wish you well. The cashew cream sounds delightful!

    Reply
  2. >在莫非定律中有項笨蛋定律:「一個組織中的笨蛋,恆大於等於三分之二。」..................................................

    Reply
  3. >wahoo! exciting stuff! hit me up if you get stumped with anything :)xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

