RSS Feed

>Product Reviews

Posted on

>Ok; so lately I have tried some new things that I really loved and I want to tell you about them!
Yesterday; my hubby bought me a present. He is really a great gift giver and he seems to give presents at the best times-like when I’m having a really rotten day, sometimes I’ll go out to my car after work and there will be a new pair of shoes in the car…but yesterday was awesome.

.
That’s right. A 5 quart Le Crueset Dutch Oven. In RED! Because I love red and all of the things he’s gotten me for the kitchen are red. I’m building up a nice collection from Le Crueset. Go to their website-there’s a 40% off sale going on!!
Needless to say…I had to make soup last night to try this bad boy out.
On to product reviews. First up; we have Coconut Aminos: I had to try this because the oh-so-talented Sarahfae at Addicted to Veggies uses this product and that lady…let’s just say she has great taste in food. Plus Coconut Aminos are raw, soy-free, gluten free and WAY lower in sodium than soy sauce is. I will say that this does not taste *like* soy sauce; but it is similar and if you’re allergic to soy and wheat; this is a great alternative. I have found that Coconut Aminos lend raw cheeses a delicious, distinct flavor that I can’t seem to get enough of. This is also great in raw salad dressings.
Next up we have Hint Unsweetened Essence Water. This stuff is INCREDIBLE. I tried three flavors. Honeydew Hibiscus, Blackberry and Cucumber. All flavors were amazing without being overwhelming. They have just enough flavor to be delicious; but they’re unsweetened so they’re refreshing like water. The honeydew hibiscus is going to be something I regularly buy because I adore both of those flavors. The best thing about this product is that they have no sweetener OR artificial sweetener in them. They’re almost like a bottled version of aqua fresca-without the calories of the fruits that are left in agua fresca. Simply Amazing.
While I’m talking about things I love; I want to mention that while I am more than capable of making amazing hummus at home; sometimes I am incredibly lazy and there’s one hummus that’s better than any other I’ve ever tried (besides Bobbi’s Hummus, which is ridiculously overpriced-$8HUMMUS!!). This is Cedar Lane Hummus which I actually am not seeing on their website. Anyways; the lemon flavor is the hummus that made me love hummus. Seeing that Cedar Lane makes non-vegan food makes me not want to buy this product anymore, especially since I figured out how to make my hummus come out like theirs. It was funny to see the method I’ve used for the last 5 years to make hummus be featured in an article in Vegetarian Times as some ‘secret’ among natives…somewhere. It’s the way I’ve made hummus for as long as I’ve made it 🙂 The more I learn about cooking methods, the more I realize I already knew/figured out due to logic. It’s making me a more confident cook 🙂
I have made a resolution to take pictures…I’m just not doing well with it. I have the camera in the kitchen so maybe i’ll do that tonight ❤
About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >Can you believe how much that dang Bobbi's hummus is!? Ten years ago, I worked at a co-op that sold the stuff for a normal price (maybe around $3-$4), and I inhaled it's garlicky goodness on a regular basis. I won't touch it for $8. I simply can't. It's chickpeas, people!

    Reply
  2. >Oh wow; I'm jealous that you ever found it for that price! From what I understand; I think Bobbi's is a small company; and their hummus is truly out of his world…but $8 is insane when we're talking about maybe $1 in ingredients; tops!!

    Reply
  3. >Yay! I LOVE presents! And you got a purdy one! Also – SO glad you tried and liked Coconut Aminos. :)xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

