RSS Feed

>Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

Posted on

>I have finally managed to make some pumpkin cookies that aren’t cake-like. Not that cake isn’t delicious; but I want my cookies to be cookies-and that means they aren’t soft and cakey.

Preheat the oven to 350 and line two baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone slipmats. I find that using canola oil spray on the pans doesn’t work well in this recipe; you really need a liner of some sort for the pan. I used parchment paper.

Mix in medium bowl and set aside:
1 c whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 c + 6 T rolled oats
1/2 t baking soda
1 1/2 t corn starch (important! I’m 90% certain this is what made the cookies..well, cookies)
1/4 t salt
1/2 t cinnamon
1/4 t ground ginger
1/8 t nutmeg

Mix in a large bowl:
1/3 c canola oil
1/2 c + 1/3 c turbinado sugar
1 T dark agave OR date paste (molasses would work; but I hate molasses)
1/2 t vanilla extract
1/2 c pumpkin puree

Set aside:
1/2 c finely chopped walnuts
1/4 c golden raisins
3 T dark chocolate chips OR cocao nibs

Once the wet ingredients are combined well; add the dry ingredients in two batches and combine well. If the mixture seems WAY too wet; you can add more rolled oats; but you don’t want this to be dry. It should be sticky and wetter than traditional cookie batter at this point. Add in walnuts, raisins and chocolate.
Drop by Tablespoon full on to cookie sheets. You should have 24 cookies. Bake for 15 minutes, then cool. These cookies are best when they have cooled for at least an hour; otherwise they’ll still be super soft and not like a cookie.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. >Sounds yummy! I don't think I've ever had a pumpkin cookie. What's wrong with me?

    Reply
  2. >Hi, I came across your blog when I was reading another blog. I noticed that you live in Nashville. I'm right down the road a couple of hours in Jackson. :o) Your cookies sound awesome. I love pumpkin, bread so these must be delish. :o)

    Reply
  3. >I just stumbled upon your blog, too (through a link on some other blog). :)I will be bookmarking your cookie recipe to try as soon as I get my hands on some pumpkin puree. I have the same problem with many vegan cookies (specially those including fruit and oats) being too soft and cakey, and would love to find a recipe that's not – so I hope my search ends here. 😉

    Reply
  4. >Hey there! I'm back again. I just awarded you the Most Versatile Blogger Award…come on over to my blog for details!

    Reply
  5. >Most awesome! I am saving this for when I buy some pumpkin puree.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

