RSS Feed

>Versatile Blogger Awards and such :)

Posted on

>I wandered over the one of my favorite blogs this morning, and Miss Vegan Crunk Herself has given me a Versatile Blogger award. This makes me realize I need to step up my game and start posting more often. I don’t know why I have such a hard time taking pictures…but I’m learning. Anyways; since I won this award; I’m supposed to tell you 7 things about myself that you don’t know and then I’ll choose five of you lovelies to give the versatile blogger award to!

1. I am the oldest child in my family; I have all brothers 3 of them; plus several step siblings. In short; my family has more members than if the Brady Bunch parents each had six kids instead of three.

2. I never want children. It’s just not for me, if you do-that’s awesome, and I hope you’re a great parent; but I realized years ago that I’m far too selfish with my personal time to have children.

3. I’m legally blind. This is always fun explaining since I can see through my glasses; but I lack depth perception and driving at night is dangerous for me-and everyone else on the road.

4. I have zero tolerance for people who drink and drive. There are no excuses for that behavior; it’s selfish and uncalled for; find a ride or DON’T DRINK.

5. My mom is my hero. I have never understood people who don’t love and respect their mothers. My mom is the greatest. She sacrificed her entire life to provide for all of us kids and never resented us. I won’t say there weren’t rough years; but I will say that if all kids had a mom like mine, the world would be a better place.

6. When I went vegan, I was one of those people who hated vegetables. My diet now consists almost entirely of foods I swore I hated as a child: broccoli, asparagus, spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes (what was wrong with me?!), eggplant, pickles, beans of all kinds and avocados. I am not even sure how I survived childhood except that I had an awesome mome who made me eat my greens even if I didn’t want to do so. In some ways disliking veggies as a child is an advantage to me. I live in the south where vegetables all seem to be made with either lard or bacon, and I have no idea what kind of flavor those to things lend to vegetables-and I’m glad I don’t.

7. My husband is not vegan, or even vegetarian, but he’s my biggest fan. He drills waiters at restaurants when he can see I’m feeling awkward, he explains to his family members what I can and can’t eat and why, he shares my love for animals, he helps fight against animal cruelty and he buys me amazing, cruelty free shoes. Oh yes, and he feeds my kitchen gadget obsession-and even makes sure everything matches. Since I haven’t posted a picture of Wes before, this will be a bonus thing for you all!

Five- and I guess this means I can’t choose Miss Bianca 🙂
SarahFae at Addicted to Veggies this lady makes raw food that will teach you that going raw doesn’t mean living on salads, or being restricted. She is AMAZING.

Mo Betta Vegan Mo is an amazingly talented and creative cook. If you need tips on Mexican American food, or just creative ideas; she’s a blogger to check out. Love her!!

Organically Me Krystina does a lot of cooking for one or two; she even has great one person desserts and features raw and cooked food. I love her creativity.

Lauren & Eric Two vegans who moved from Texas to Pennsylvania. These two fitness lovers also happen to love great beer-they’re also really talented with a camera. Check out those pictures!

Very Vegan Holiday Andrea is great with parties and holidays. She makes the most gorgeous food and has the best looking parties around. She also lives in the dirty south like me, and proves that you don’t have to live in Portland to make top notch vegan food. Check her out for holiday inspiration-you won’t be disappointed!!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

10 responses »

  1. >Thank you again! This made my day.

    Reply
  2. >My husband isn't vegan or vegetarian either. His veggies consist of potatoes…ha Thanks for the blender recommendation. I will be sure to check out the blendtec at Bed Bath & Beyond. I seriously doubt santa is going to want to drop $500 on a vitamix. :o)

    Reply
  3. >I totally feel ya on the kids thing. But unlike you, I have NO siblings, so I feel like I have to reproduce at some point so my parents will have their only grand-kid. Bleh. Right now, they have a grand-dog and six grand-kitties. I wish that could be enough…And my bf's not a vegetarian either. But he's totally supportive and he likes telling people he has a vegan girlfriend. He thinks its hot. 🙂

    Reply
  4. >I'm legally blind too 🙂

    Reply
  5. >YAY! Thanks! I am going to do this tomorrow.

    Reply
  6. >I'm going to have to keep adding to by reader. You probably already know or can imagine, but bacon grease and fatback don't add anything to the taste of actual vegetables!

    Reply
  7. >I think it's the first time I see a pic of Wes!

    Reply
  8. >Congrats Lacey! And thanks for the award. I'll have to think of five blogs ASAP!

    Reply
  9. >Always nice to learn more about the bloggers behind the blog. 🙂 I have a non-veg fella, too, but he eats vegan by default because I do all the cooking. He doesn't complain, though, unless there are mushrooms involved.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

