RSS Feed

>Kale!

Posted on

>Hrm. Well I tried posting from my phone and that didn’t work out…how frustrating! In the spirit of blogging more often; I am going to have to make that work! Kelly, over at Living on The Vedge has been having vegetables for breakfast to show folks just how easy it is to get in your veggies. I must admit; aside from veggie omelletes in my egg eating days; I never ate vegetables besides hashbrowns [which don’t really count-they’re fried!] for breakfast. I wanted to see if this was something I could do. I am one of those vegans who sometimes doesn’t get as many veggies as she should. In fact, I sometimes have to yell at myself for surviving on nuts and carbs. It’s not good!
This morning?
Kale Chips!

Recipe:
preheat oven to 300; spray a pan lightly with cooking spray or line it with parchment paper
1 bunch red russian kale (curly green kale works)
1 T olive oil
1/2 t salt
1/2 t garlic powder
1 t pepper (+/-, to taste. I like spicy things!)
2-3 T nutritional yeast

Tear kale leaves off of stalks in to medium-large pieces, discard stalks, rinse kale and dry in a salad spinner. Mix all ingredients besides kale in a large bowl. Add kale, and combine with your hands, massaging the kale leaves with your fingers to soften them up a bit. Spead out on 2 baking sheets, bake for 15-18 minutes, checking on them every so often to stir them. You lose quite a bit of volume when you dry the kale out; and it TOTALLY changes kale. I love what it does..it’s so crispy and delicious.

I’m also having a McIntosh apple for breakfast because I’m pretending it’s fall.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

4 responses »

  1. >I tried some kale chips like this a while back except they didn't have garlic powder or nutritional yeast on them. They were okay, but not my fav. I'll have to try them again, but your way. I'm bad about eating too many carbs myself! :o)

    Reply
  2. >Ha! Pretending its fall! It's almost here…I love veggies for breakfast though I've never had kale chips for breakfast…but I love them so I should eat them in the a.m. I did have veggies (carrots and peppers) this morning though in a tofu scramble, which I stuffed into a breakfast burrito with steamed taters and Gimme Lean sausage.

    Reply
  3. >kale! I haven't had it in too long! woo!

    Reply
  4. >I still have yet to actually make kale chips! I love eating veggies for breakfast. Sometimes in smoothies. Sometimes leftovers for dinner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

