RSS Feed

>The Only Coconut Butter That Exists in My World

Posted on

>Ok. So I had been buying Spectrum organic, unrefined, raw coconut oil. And it’s great; really, especially for baking. But I never understood why raw desserts called for coconut oil because, well..it melts so quickly and it’s so…oily. The flavor is nice but…I don’t do well with overly oily foods and once I used up my last jar; I wasn’t going to buy anymore.
BUT, After reading Miss Bianca over at Vegan Crunk (um I think we might be soul sisters. I love her blog name. it’s the best!!), and seeing Katie, at Chocolate-Covered Katie talk about Artisana Coconut Butter; I wanted to check this product out at Whole Paycheck. I figured Coconut Butter was a fancy way of saying Coconut Oil; and had that been the case; I wouldn’t have purchased this product.
IT IS NOT COCONUT OIL! It’s more like Butter. It’s whole coconut; so it has some oil in it; but it’s nothing like coconut oil. It’s thicker. It’s completely opaque. It’s not greasy and it doesn’t melt in my kitchen like coconut oil does some times. It doesn’t taste the same either. It’s amazing…it is actually LESS coconutty than coconut oil in my opinion. It’s more solid than liquid; it’s pretty spreadable and it is…amazing.

Since I loved Artisana’s coconut butter so much; I’m telling you; it’s worth spending the $13.99 a jar that it costs. Trust me. I loved this so much that I went right back to Whole Foods (thank the lord for the husband’s employee discount) and tried to find the rest of Artisana’s products..like Cashini and Cocoa Bliss and Macadamia Nut butter. Believe me when I say I almost cried to discover that I’d dealt with Green Hills traffic for nothing. My Whole Foods doesn’t carry any of the other Artisana line. I asked them to start but I know that specialty products like that need to sell for the store to be able to carry them. I seriously hate shopping online-except at Cosmo’s in ATL because they’re vegan owned and it’s the closest access I have to a vegan owned business. If they carried artisana products I’d buy them there for sure. Anyways; I emailed Artisana to ask them if they can point me in a different direction than Whole Foods for their products in the Middle Tennessee area. We’ll see what they say.

In the mean time…go get you some Coconut Butter. It’s incredible and you will adore it; and possibly end up with a new addiction!

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

9 responses »

  1. >I just finally found it this past week too. Never thought to look with the peanut butter. My favorite thing to do with it is to stuff medjool dates with it – so very yummy.

    Reply
  2. >Interesting….I may try this out. Whole Paycheck? haha. I love it…but hate the store! 🙂

    Reply
  3. >I love Artisana Coconut butter! A dollop on my baked sweet potato = delicious!

    Reply
  4. >I've been drooling at all the blog posts with coconut butter lately. I want to try some soon, too. I wonder if I can put a jar on layaway? haha.

    Reply
  5. >I've been trying to find it ever since I read about it on Biancas blog, but I haven't had any luck. I may have to suck it up and order it on line!

    Reply
  6. >Oh man, I love Artisana Butters!

    Reply
  7. >Okay. I have to check this out now!

    Reply
  8. >I was buying the Spectrum oil, too, but now I think I am switching to Artisana. It is totally worth it, plus I am addicted to Cacao Bliss.If you want to try some of their other products, I'm doing an Artisana giveaway over at my blog – http://www.livingonthevedge.net/2010/09/health-nuts-artisana-raw-butter.html

    Reply
  9. >I must admit, I've never tried anything by Artisana because the prices are a bit intimidating, but I do trust that their products are high quality… Maybe it's time I bite the bullet and fork over the cash. The coconut butter at least sounds worth it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

