RSS Feed

Posted on

>I’m wondering how you would all feel about an IRS rant? It would be directly related to my own personal issues and experience with the IRS. And no; I’m not one of those people who is annoyed because I owe the IRS money; I’m annoyed because I’ve been fighting them for the money they owe ME since February and I’ve about had it. I keep getting told these three things:
1. I’m sorry..I have no idea why that hasn’t been released.
2. I’ll release that for you now, you will receive it in two weeks. (HA! Never happened!!)
3. Call back next Friday to check on this.
This has been the story for the last three months; before that I experienced only “confusion” by the CSRs. Today I demanded a supervisor to be told that supervisors at the IRS don’t have the ability to do anything that customer service reps can’t do. They also have no additional knowledge or understanding. What is the point of a “supervisor” who is all representatives equal?  What is the point?
I calmly told the rep today that if they were any other business; I would sue them, win, and report them to the Better Business Bureau. I explained to her that I thought it was pretty ironic that if I owed them money they’d have started garnishing my wages months ago; but that when they owe me money, and I’m not making any progress when it comes to getting that money back, I just have to basically cross my fingers and hope someone does their f_cking job. And no one ever does. So I get to waste more of my own free time trying to resolve an issue I shouldn’t have to deal with at all and I have absolutely zero recourse. No one can help me. I can pay a lawyer to help me; but just like I can’t complain about the IRS to anyone; even if I won the case, the IRS isn’t going to reimburse me for lawyer fees. Even when a governmental agency loses; they never have to do that. The government is exempt.
Yet so many people want the government running everything. I would rather deal with the private sector; where people who run businesses are actually held accountable and subject to the laws that apply to regular people. I have a choice then, with the government, there is no choice, there are no options and I have no voice. I could work with a tax advocate. But they work for the IRS; and I am just :so: sure, that they would be on my side. I don’t even understand why this is still going on. I have done nothing wrong here; I just want my overpayment to them refunded back to me. This is the worst, must frustrating thing I have ever dealt with in my life, and believe me, I am not looking forward to filing my taxes next year. I wish there was an alternative to dealing with the IRS.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >I would insist to speak to a supervisor. And I probably wouldn't be very nice if someone told me that the sup can't do anything else. Based on what you've said, at least two of them have agreed there is a problem. So someone has to fix it, and if they can't, you need a sup. It sounds like a hassle but if it's enough $$ then it's worth your time.

    Reply
  2. >Thanks for the input…I did speak with a supervisor…she was rather rude and it accomplished nothing; I now have my tax guy involved; I had to give him power of attorney…FUN!

    Reply
  3. >We had an issue back when we got married, where they gave us back twice the amount we owed them. We called them to inform them of their mistake. We were told they of course did not make a mistake (I am sure someone was missing that 3500.00) We sent them copies of where we paid them, and WE found that the SSN and name that was on the back of our check was not even ours! They processed our payment to someone else account. It took us a year and a half to get it all straightened out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

