RSS Feed

>Vegan Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili Recipe

Posted on

>Okay; I suppose I should share the chili recipe! A few of you asked for it; and chili is one of those things I wing at this point; but I DO recall a time when I measured spices; and these amounts should be right on.
I threw the following into a crock pot and let it go:
2 lb of butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cubed (1/2 to 1 inch cubes)
1 yellow onion, diced
1 shallot, diced
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1 28 oz can of organic tomatoes (do not drain)
4 T tomato paste
1 1/2 c frozen corn kernels
1 chipotle chili in adobo sauce
3 cans of organic black beans, rinsed (about five cups total)
2 cups of Imagine No-Chicken Stock (i had to use this up, you can use water if you like!)
1 c water
Spices, this is the mixture I use; the amounts and spices are based on what comes in the Two Alarm Chili Kit, which is what my mom always used when I was growing up. If you don’t often cook with all the spices below; you really can’t go wrong with this kit; just ignore the part where it says what else goes in the chili.
3 T chili powder
1 T + 1 t cumin
2 t smoked paprika
2 t cocoa powder, make sure there are no lumps!
1 t salt (+/- to taste)
1 t garlic powder
1 t onion powder
1 t mexican oregano (if you do not have the mexican variety; i would omit this)
3/4 t chipotle chili powder; but if you don’t like spicy food, start with 1/8 t and increase the amount after a half hour of simmering; flavors amplify the longer something cooks

I left this in the crock pot for hours; if you make it on the stove top; you won’t have to cook this for more than an hour; if the mixture is too thick for you; add more liquid, like a beer-which is what I typically do instead of using all water as a liquid. If the mixture is too thin for your taste; mix 3 T masa (corn flour) with 1/4 c warm water, combine well, then add to the chili and simmer for 15 more minutes.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

One response »

  1. >Now I'm gonna be up all night thinking about how I can get Raw Vegan Chili to taste like it's been "stewing" all day. I know it can be done! Especially after the inspiration I've gotten from this post. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

