RSS Feed

>Vegan MoFo, Day 1. Pumpkin Pasta

Posted on

>Well; it’s day one of mofo and I’m right on track.

I love pumpkin. I love all the delicious things I can make with it. But you know what sucks about buying cans of pumpkin? Recipes only use the whole can if you make an insane amount of food. So you always have this lonely odd amount of pumpkin left over and, let’s be honest, if you’re mea, it usually winds up in the garbage, or if you’re awake enough in the morning; you might toss it in a smoothie. Is anyone really that awake at 5 AM? Oh, you don’t get up for work at 5? You lucky, lucky person. After making Pumpkin Cookie/Cakes, I had a little over a third of a cup of pumpkin and not a clue what I was going to do with it. I know I could have made a smoothie; but it’s cold [ok, it’s 50F; that’s not actually cold], and I didn’t want a smoothie. I ignored the lonely tupperware of pumpkin all weekend.
Then yesterday, I had a craving for pasta. I haven’t had pasta in weeks…maybe months, months; which is weird; because I love pasta, but I guess I just haven’t had a craving so I didn’t think about it. Those pictures I posted last week must have put the thought in my head. I was making my basic pasta topping [fresh tomatoes, good olive oil, garlic] when an idea struck me…add pumpkin. Holy shizzle Batman!!! It was amazing. So amazing that I’m going to share the recipe. Because you need this in your life like yesterday. I have a picture at the end; I’m sorry it’s not pretty, but IT WAS SO GOOD, TRUST ME.

Before you do this, know that I made this a very quick meal by using Angel Hair pasta. This sauce would actually be really good with penne, which tends to hold sauce well. I just wanted a super quick meal and I adore thin angel hair pasta.  I started boiling my water and heating up my saute pan with oil at the same time and everything was done at the same time.

Pumpkin Pasta for One:
2 oz Angel Hair Pasta (this was a little bit too much pasta for me honestly)

1 medium sized vine-ripened tomato, diced (seeds and all)
1 T + 1 t fruity Olive Oil, I like Colavita Fruttato
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 t salt (to taste)
2 T good white wine
1/3 heaping cup pumpkin puree
2 lemon garlic marinated olives, finely chopped (optional)

Boil your water; once it’s boiling, add a good pinch of salt and your pasta; follow the cooking directions. While this process is starting; get to work on your sauce.
Warm up the oil in a saute pan while you chop your garlic. Add garlic to the pan and heat until fragrant. While this is heating, chop your tomatoes and olives and separate them. Once the garlic has softened, add tomatoes and heat until they start to fall apart; then add wine, salt and pumpkin; heat through; then add olives. Continue heating over medium heat until ready to serve.

It’s not pretty; but it was amazing. Because it was the weekend; I sprinkled a little daiya mozzarella over my pasta before topping it with TONS of sauce. I’m a girl who likes to have more sauce than pasta; but if you aren’t that kind of person; you can always make a little more pasta and share.

Stop judging my picture. I see you over there. That’s okay; I’m judging it too. That pile of garlicky pumpkin deliciousness was allllllllllllllll mine.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

11 responses »

  1. >Happy MoFo! That looks SO good;I don't think it's a bad picture at all! 🙂 Thank you for the recipe!

    Reply
  2. >I like to use butternut squash puree in a pasta sauce, especially with Earth Balance and vegan Parmesan crumbles.

    Reply
  3. >This looks DELICIOUS! Happy World Vegan Day!

    Reply
  4. >Yum! There's a "punk-kin pasta" recipe in one of Sarah Kramer's books that I love, love, love — pasta, pumpkin, and vegan sausage. You made me want that now! But your version with tomatoes and stuff sounds soooo good. BTW, I NEVER have leftover pumpkin because my dog eats it. He loves his daily pumpkin bowl.

    Reply
  5. >What a good idea! I don't care for sweet pumpkin foods, but savory pumpkin is awesome.

    Reply
  6. >That picture is gooooood and I'm loving the sound of this recipe. I find pumpkin too sweet so I'm always looking for things that contrast well with it and I reckon olives would be awesome.Happy MoFo'ing buddy.:)

    Reply
  7. >Yum! Pumpkin pasta is the best!

    Reply
  8. >I do have a similar problem with leftover pumpkin. I don't have a problem with leftover wine – what a great way to use a little and have plenty left over.

    Reply
  9. >That looks so amazingly awesome. I'm kind of embarassed to say I've never eaten pumpkin in a savory context. This is a must-eat.

    Reply
  10. >Garlicky goodness! What's wrong with your picture? I don't see it! :)Thank you for your eleven cents! I will take your advice and go with the Sweet and Sara marshmallows, because taste > amount. Now I need to decide if when it comes to the white chocolate chips taste > convenience. I would love to try Hannah's recipe AND that awesome looking white chocolate mousse!

    Reply
  11. Pingback: No Bake Vegan Breakfast Cookie | Lacey Loves Food

Leave a Reply

