RSS Feed

>Vegan MoFo Day 2, Vegan Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted on

>
I almost didn’t post..but these came out great so I had to keep my MoFo commitment.
Typically, tahini is not my thing. It’s really strong and for me, it overpowers other flavors…or so I though. Celine, of Have Cake, Will Travel introduced me to the chocolate tahini combination. It was love at first bite. Tonight, I wanted something sweet but didn’t have the patience to wait a full hour for a Tea Cake to bake. Cookies are quick and easy. I just threw this together and it worked perfectly.

This was my first experience baking with chia seeds. I have to say; I was wary of using them after an unfortunate vegan overnight oats incident. Can I just say…ew? I was not a fan; but maybe this had something to do with the insane amount of chia seeds and the lack of a sweetner. I will not be giving overnight oats another chance; I’d rather cook oatmeal. Either way; I had a bag of chia seeds and I refuse to give up on a superfood easily. I was really impressed with how chia seeds worked as a binder in cookies. I have been looking for a perfect cookie binder for years; and This is it. Chia seeds do not affect the flavor or color of the cookie; and they don’t leave behind a crunch.

 I think Chia seeds are absolutely worth the price. I paid $5 for an 8 ounce bag. If you don’t want to buy chia seeds; simply use ener-g or a flax egg in this recipe. You could also use a small banana; but that would change the flavor of these cookies.

Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookie Ingredeints:
Combine 1T Chia seeds with 1/4c warm-not hot- water and set aside
2 T coconut oil
1T peanut oil
2/3 c brown sugar
1/2 c tahini
1 T maple syrup
1 1/2 c flour
3/4 t baking soda
pinch of salt
1/2 c chocolate chips (Trader Joe’s are my favorites. I do not buy any other brand, ever).

Preheat the oven to 350 and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

“Cream” oils and sugar until fluffy. Stir in tahini and maple syrup until everything is well combined; then add the chia seed/water mixture and stir until mixed well. Stir in chocolate chips; then add 1 c of flour, the baking soda and the salt. Stir, then add in the rest of the flour. If the mixture is too dry; mix in almond milk one tablespoon at a time. Use a tablespoon to scoop dough out onto baking sheet, as you can see, I left mine round; my mom always made cookies like this and I prefer them this way. You can end up with a crisp exterior and a soft interior. Bake for nine minutes, they will stay pale but they really are done. If you overcook these, I feel like they will end up really dry and crumbly; but I could be wrong.

Published with Blogger-droid v1.6.4

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

6 responses »

  1. >This is a fantastic idea for a recipe! (My Trader Joes stopped carrying chocolate chips. They switched to large chocolate disks.

    Reply
  2. >Again, this looks fab! I'm gonna have to get some ingredients and make this.

    Reply
  3. >I've yet to try tahini in cookies, but each time I see a tahini recipe post I remember that I need to get on that!

    Reply
  4. >I was afraid of tahini at first but now I have such a taste for it (after trying goddess dressing!) that I would totally be willing to try it in cookies. My TJ's also stopped carring chocolate chips, but the disks are just as good and easier to eat outside of cookies.

    Reply
  5. >i've never tried using chia seeds as "eggs" in a recipe, but this recipe sounds really good — i'll have to give it a go!

    Reply
  6. These cookies are AMAZING! At our local health food grocer they bake delicious tahini chocolate chip cookies, which gave us the idea to make our own, that are huge but 1.25 each, so it has turned into a fairly expensive addiction. We just made these and they are even BETTER! Some of the best cookies I’ve ever had, let alone vegan. Yuummm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

