RSS Feed

>Vegan Mofo, Day 3. Curried Chickpea Cutlets

Posted on

>

I’m getting better at making sure I photograph things; but when food just isn’t pretty; I have a hard time. Oh well; I’m making progress and I have an awesome recipe to share. I’m really excited about these. I’d kind of left vital wheat gluten behind…every time I make seitan it’s gross so I stopped making it. I have two boxes of VWG though; and they’re good until next August; so I decided that over MoFo I’d give seitan another go…and I will.
On Monday, Luciana mentioned that she made chickpea cutlets with a twist; I decided I liked her twist. I like the idea of changing up the flavors in the famous chickpea cutlets to fit whatever meal you’re eating. I’m lazy with ingredients sometimes. I love spices; but when it comes to curry; I prefer paste. These came out great so I decided to share.
First, gather your ingredients.

Missing from the picture…chickpeas and tamari sauce. Oops.

1 15 oz can of chickpeas (1 1/2 c)
3 T coconut oil
3 T tamari (I always use the reduced sodium variety)
1/4 c + 2 T No Chicken Broth
1 t garlic powder
2 T Vindaloo Curry Paste
2 slices hearty bread; toasted and food processed or chopped into bread crumbs (2/3 c)
2 T pumpkin seeds
3/4 c vital wheat gluten

Preheat the oven to 375 and lightly oil a baking sheet with peanut oil.

Mash chickpeas with coconut oil. Make sure there aren’t any whole chickpeas left. Add in tamari, broth, garlic, curry paste, pumpkin seeds and combine well. Then add bread crumbs and wheat gluten. Knead for about 3-4 minutes; until strings of gluten form when you try to pull the mixture apart. Separate dough and form six equal sized patties. Flatten these as much as you can, then place them on the baking sheet. Brush the tops with peanut oil. Bake for 20 minutes; flip, then bake for 10 more minutes. Serve with mango chutney, coconut rice with toasted coconut, and garlicky greens.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

8 responses »

  1. >Another super idea! I would never think to tinker with the Chickpea Cutlet recipe. Very daring of you.

    Reply
  2. >Curry and chickpeas! Yum! I love it. I'm always looking for new ways to sneak some curry into food. Chickpeas are the perfect canvas.

    Reply
  3. >Seitan is one of my Vegan MoFo goals. I've never made it, and I've heard lots of horror stories. I'm looking forward to hearing how yours goes!

    Reply
  4. >This sounds insanely good! I'm bookmarking this for later.

    Reply
  5. >I love the Chickpea Cutlets! Your little twist sounds very good! This reminds me that I need to make them again…very soon. :o)

    Reply
  6. >Mmm.. chickpea cutlets is definitely a favorite of mine! Great variation!

    Reply
  7. >What a great idea! The cutlets are one of my fave recipes and I love to get fat on Indian food so thanks for the awesome twist!

    Reply
  8. >These sounds great! I forgot the chutney until after mine were made, and I was too hungry at that point to make anything else.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

