RSS Feed

>Pecan Pumpkin Pie, Vegan MoFo 6

Posted on

>I veganized this recipe from Rachel Ray’s site; it’s actually a Paula Deen recipe. I’m happy with the way this turned out; but I think it needs about 2-3T less butter than is called for..and I’m going to test a version using a combination of silken tofu and chia eggs to replace the eggs-in this recipe I used all chia. This was just a little too oily; but maybe that’s just me and the fact that I typically reduce oil in recipes once I’ve made them before. This pie is more like a pecan pie made with pumpkin custard as the filling, instead of the sticky sweet traditional pecan pie filling. There’s no pumpkin pie spice in it; which is a nice change since most pumpkin pies are flavored by pumpkin pie spice; which kind of overwhelms pumpkin. Pumpkin is kind of mild in my mind; so you have to let it be the star sometimes; and let spices take a break!!

The pie turned out gorgeous, and because it’s a Thanksgiving tester; I brought it to work for non-vegan coworkers to try. Testing food on non-vegans is the best. They’re totally honest and not at all vegan-food biased.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. >Yum, that looks like some damn good pie.

    Reply
  2. >wow! oily or not, this looks incredible! The crust looks amazing.

    Reply
  3. >This does look good. I think the pecans without the gooey-sticky base would make a great pie.

    Reply
  4. >That is one awesome looking pie! Thanks for recommending that I check out Food Snobbery is my Hobbery. I am going to check it out now. That's an awesome idea about giving some of the green tomatoes to a food bank. I don't think we have one here, but I am about to check to find out for sure. :o)

    Reply
  5. >Looks fantastic!What was the consensus? Does it have the same texture as pumpkin pie (as in pumpkin pie with added pecan)? I want to try this but am not a fan of pumpkin or sweet potato pie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

