RSS Feed

>Pineapple Hoison Chickpeas & Rice, Vegan MoFo 7

Posted on

>My lunch today included this yummy rice…and a chickpea cutlet, because well, chickpeas are awesome. Don’t worry, I had a salad too!

Why, yes, that is mango chutney.

I get so bored with beans and rice. I have to find ways to keep beans interesting and rice from being just plain old rice, and usually I try to avoid just dousing the rice in tamari. There’s a blog I like, called The Life, and I’ve read about his seitan marinade. Pineapple juice and hoison sauce are involved (um, yum, both of those things are awesome), and then on The Happy Herbivore I read about Teriyaki Chickpeas, which also sound interesting and delicious.
I haven’t made either of these recipes; and I’ve just scanned the ingredients in both in the past and kind of forgot about them. Last weekend; I picked up garbanzo beans at the farmer’s market and I knew I wanted to make them into something other than roasted chickpeas or hummus. I soaked and cooked them, made a marinade, then set them in the fridge and forgot about them for 4 days. (I’m awesome like that). Truth be told; I nearly threw them away, but then I sampled a chickpea and knew I couldn’t do that. I also noticed I had half a carton of Imagine No-Chicken broth in the fridge to use up; so I knew I was going to make brown rice with it. These two combined…were amazing.

Ingredients:

1 c brown basmati rice
2 c imagine no chicken broth
(prepare rice; I hope you know how; but if not, boil your liquid, stir in rice, reduce heat to a simmer, and cook for 40-50 minutes-long grain cooks up in about 40 minutes, short grain takes about 50.)

Chickpeas:
3 c chickpeas
1 c hoisin sauce
1/2 c pineapple juice
1 T toasted sesame oil
1 T peanut oil
1 t granulated garlic
2 t sambal olek (unless you can’t handle heat; then you can skip or reduce this)
1 T sesame seeds + 1 T for sprinkling

Combine all marinade ingredients; pour over chickpeas and marinate for at least 2 hours; the longer the better. Mine had AMAZING flavor after sitting for four days. When you’re ready to cook them, preheat the oven to 375 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a slipmat. Drain the marinade off the chickpeas using a colander. DO NOT RINSE; JUST DRAIN THE EXCESS MARINADE. Pour chickpea on to pan, make sure they’re all flat on the baking sheet. Sprinkle with sesame seeds, and bake for 20-22 minutes. Your chickpeas will be firm but not crunchy. Mix with rice and enjoy! This is going to be breakfast this week. You know, after today, since I had biscuits.

Okay; and just to prove I ate greens…

2 cups of baby spinach, an heirloom tomato, and some Ume Plum Vinegar. NOM.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

6 responses »

  1. >omg, I'll bet those chickpeas were fanstastic.. they sound so good!

    Reply
  2. >hey! I'll actually be at the Wild Cow Tuesday night!

    Reply
  3. >If you think you can meet up, email me! It'll be sometime after 5pm (that's all I know at this point).

    Reply
  4. >Yum…those chickpeas sound awesome!!

    Reply
  5. >Beans and rice can get boring but this version sounds like it's da bomb! Sorry I'm such a slowpoke replier – I hope you can make yourself love beets just like you made yourself love kale! And I can 100% recommend my lazy MoFo approach, I don't have to worry about testing my own recipes elebenty times before posting them. My minions do all the work for me! Mwahahahaha *cough cough* 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

