RSS Feed

>Vegan MoFo number I’m not sure…Acorn Squash Sauce Pizza

Posted on

>

My photography is suffering from a terrible condition. It’s called getting off work when it’s already dark outside. But I mean…really…it gets dark at 4:30ish here. Damn you daylight savings time!!

The husband brought home some whole wheat pizza dough from Whole Foods the other night. He was going to “school” me in tossing pizza dough. I decided that since he’s so good at it..I don’t really need to learn. It would be a bad thing for me to know how to toss pizza dough properly. I cannot afford a new wardrobe and I would need one. I could eat pizza every day. There are just so many different things you can do to pizza dough. There are so many sauces and toppings…I don’t even know why people think pizza needs cheese to be honest.

I’m on a winter squash kick right now. I find myself adding winter squash to everything. My favorite method for cooking it if I’m going to just puree the squash is steaming it. It’s easy; requires very little time, and requires no fat or seasoning. It also means you don’t have to peel the squash; just cut it in half, scoop the seeds and strings out, then steam away. This weekend I noticed that one of my acorn squashes was rotting (after a week, eff you Trader Joe’s!!) so i wanted to steam the other one before it rotted as well. I ended up with over three cups of puree and not a clue as to what I’d do with it. I made an acorn squash sauce for this pizza using acorn squash, shallots, garlic, heirloom tomatos, olive oil and no-chicken stock. (I used up the rest of the puree in last night’s acorn squash and cranberry bean chili).

I put what my husband calls a criminal amount of this sauce on my half of our giant square pizza, then I topped it with zucchini-mac nut cheese (IT BROWNS YALL!!), home made parma (which also seems to change in color) and a lot of lemon-garlic marinated green olives. It wasn’t the prettiest pizza; but it was delicious; so I decided to share what I did with it. I wish I had taken a picture of the whole thing before my husband inhaled his half. He made his half vegan as well; using basil pesto I made, tons of spinach, onions, garlic, olives, shallots and daiya. I actually don’t think he knew he was using daiya as it’s in an unlabeled tupperware container in the fridge. HA!

What’s your favorite thing to do with pizza? I personally prefer pizzas to not have commercially made fake cheese on them. I adore nut cheeses and home made parma…which basically is a nut-nooch cheese as well.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

5 responses »

  1. >Looks great and I agree, the early darkness is hindering my pictures as well! 🙂

    Reply
  2. >Ah….you share my love with pizza…ha I wanted to use a nut cheese on the one I made the other night, but I forgot to soak my cashews. 😦 Yours sounds really good!I'm with you on the daylight savings time…why can't they just leave the time alone…lol.I can't believe The Wild Cow is walking distance from your house. I'll be sure to let you know the next time we are in Nashville. If you ever come to little ole Jackson, let me know. :o)

    Reply
  3. >I'm with you on the darkness… it's a drag! I'm starting to figure out how to tweak pictures with photoshop and such. Otherwise they all look yellow. However, your pizza sounds and looks crazy good! I usually just do pizzas with tomatoes, basil, garlic and olive oil. Oh, and a little sprinkle of salt. I haven't really experimented with cheezes and such… but I think I will!

    Reply
  4. >That pizza looks gooood. I honestly don't have a favorite topping. My favorite used to be mushroom, black olive and pineapple. Now, I do whatever I feel. I really like sliced garlic or roasted garlic on top. Mmm.

    Reply
  5. >I love to make my own dough and my own sauce, in which I put a boat load of nooch and then just top it with some green veggies, like broccoli, and garlic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

