RSS Feed

>Vegan MoFo-Eats

Posted on

>

Let’s start with this 7 lb kabocha squash that cost me $11. If i had seen this while the cashier was ringing me up; I would not have this. As it is now, I’m almost afraid of cooking it because whatever I make better be damn good. After looking at my receipt, then looking up the nutritional information on the kabocha squash; I really did almost return it. Acorn squash is so much healthier than kabocha. I was mostly disappointed at how very little fiber was in this squash. Oh well; if you have a fail proof recipe for kabocha; share the love. And check out this other pretty squash next to it. I think this is a carnival squash. It was only $1. Ahh; the price difference between Whole Foods and the Farmer’s market is insane…but the FM doesn’t have red kuri or kabocha squashes so a girl has to shop around.

This weekend was insanely bright. My house is insanely dark. Wes and I live in the ‘hip’ part of town, and our place is small. I don’t mind that it’s small; but I do mind that we have no windows in the kitchen and not very many windows in our house in general. We don’t get a lot of natural light inside. I know I could just buy a light, but that’s not something that’s in my budget right now, so I’m working with what I have. Here are a few bright pictures of the delicious breakfast I had yesterday. Tofu scramble with onions, garlic and mushrooms plus roasted butternut squash with salt and pepper. Simple and Satisfying. Oh yes; and my scrambles are always darker than most. This is because instead of using salt in tofu scramble; I use reduced sodium tamari or braggs. I just like the flavor better.

Look at that sexy butternut squash. I ate the entire squash in one sitting.


Not to worry. I didn’t forget my greens. I found this gorgeous ‘Red’ Russian Kale. Why is it called red when it’s really purple? Who cares…it’s so pretty! I dressed this simply with lemon, garlic and a tiny bit of fruity olive oil.
And lastly; I leave you with the last fresh crowder peas of the season.
About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >Kabocha is amazing in an African peanut stew! It gets super creamy and soaks up the peanut sauce 🙂

    Reply
  2. >I see right now that I will not be buying a Kabocha…ouch…that price is insane!That butternut squash looks yummy…seeing yours reminds me that I have a one in my frig that needs to be cooked soon.I love crowder peas…yum!

    Reply
  3. >That kale is so beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

