RSS Feed

>Vegan Mofo/Vegan Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

Posted on

>

I love pumpkin. I love oatmeal cookies. I love these pumpkin oatmeal cookies; but I can’t leave anything alone. This weekend; I modified this recipe and the results were amazing. I have mentioned before that I bought some Chia seeds a few months back; thinking I’d jump on the overnight oats wagon. Well; overnight oats were definitely not for me (ew. soupy cold oatmeal. why did I think that would be tasty?) I figured I was just going to be stuck with Chia seeds…but then I decided to try using them like flax seeds and it’s been love since then. Chia seeds are so healthy too!

I love chocolate in cookies; but chocolate is full of sugar (and fat); so I try to only use chocolate in recipes where oil and tons of sugar isn’t already involved (well, unless it’s the holidays or the treats aren’t for me). Enter: raw cocoa nibs. These provide TONS of chocolate flavor without any additional sugar or cocoa butter added to them.  I also figured since these were pumpkin cookies, pumpkin seeds were appropriate as well.

Recipe/Ingredients:

Preheat the oven to 350. Grease two pans or line with parchment paper or a slipmat. If you don’t grease the pans or use a liner of some sort; your cookies will stick to the pan.

Mix in a medium-small bowl and set aside:
1 c light spelt flour
1/2 c + 3 T rolled oats
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1 t pumpkin pie spice

Mix in a large bowl:
1/2 c date sugar,  sucanat or brown sugar
1/3 c white sugar
1/2 c pumpkin, acorn squash, or sweet potato puree
1/2 t vanilla
1 T chia seeds
3 T cocoa bean nibs

Mix until well combined; then stir in dry ingredients. If your batter is too dry, add a tablespoon or so of pumpkin to this mixture. I didn’t have to; but pureed hard squashes vary in water content based on brand and how you acquired the puree (steaming versus roasting).  When this mixture is well incorporated, stir in
1/4 c chopped walnuts
1/4 c hulled pumpkin seeds (green)
1/4 c golden raisins

Drop by the tablespoon full on your cookie sheet. These don’t really spread so they can be pretty close to each other. Bake for 14 minutes. I got exactly 27 cookies out of this.
These aren’t the *prettiest* cookies in the world; mostly because of the flecks of cocoa beans and chia seeds; but they taste incredible and my officemates kept asking why they tasted like chocolate but they couldn’t see any chocolate chips. No picture…because I forgot and most of these disappeared before I rememberd.

About laceythevegan

I'm a reader, a food lover, a crazy cat lady, an animal lover, local shopper and local music supporter. You can find me in East Nashville most of the time, shopping, having a drink at a locally owned bar, or eating food at a local restaurant. I like cumin and smoked paprika way more than I should, winter squashes make me happy, and while I do like most fruits, I only *love* berries and mangoes. I'd rather have salty snacks than sweets, and the darker chocolate is, the better. I still think Earth Balance is the best fake butter, Vegenaise is the best vegan mayo, and Almond Milk tastes better than soy milk. Chia seeds are my favorite egg substitute for the most part, and pumpkin tends to bind better than applesauce-especially in chocolate goods. I know a lot about food and nutrition, but that doesn't mean I'm the healthiest person. I tend to avoid eating out because I know I can make food that tastes better at home.

3 responses »

  1. >That's a great use for nibs! I've never bought any — even though I love them — because I wasn't sure what to do with them.On overnight chia oats: I liked 'em, but not my favorite thing in the world. I prefer my oats cooked and hot. I do, however, soak my steel cut oats overnight in hot water and then re-heat in the morning to save on cooking time.

    Reply
  2. >I had never thought about using the nibs in cookies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

